Prague . . . "not so much"


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » New Town
July 3rd 2011
Published: July 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Vienna to Prague


Last minutes in ViennaLast minutes in ViennaLast minutes in Vienna

Elyane on my left Sara on my right
I was woken up very early by a couple getting ready to check out. In the hostel world it is known courtesy that if you have to leave early you need get your stuff ready the night before! You are usually sharing a room with 7 other people and it’s just common courtesy. (Elyane says she is going to make noiseless zippers)
After they left I couldn’t go back to sleep so I got up, got ready, and ate some breakfast before I was supposed to meet the girls because we were getting some coffee together before we all went our separate ways.

We all met up and I decided to bring my pack along since the coffee shop wasn’t too far away from the train station and I had the earliest train, with it leaving at 12:33. Our server was very mean and none of us really got what we wanted since they had updated their German menu’s but hadn’t updated the English ones, so when we would point to what we wanted she would get frustrated and say that wasn’t on the menu anymore.
Even though she was mean we had a great time since it was our last time as a group, we were all heading different ways with Emma and Elyane to Split, Croatia, Sara to Budapest, and I to Prague. It was a quick goodbye as I had to make my train and I didn’t want any more complications like the ones I encountered in Budapest, and I wanted to leave a bit of time just in case anything were to happen, but I will miss these girls!

I got to the train station and I didn’t see Praha (Prague) on the departures board. (Ooooooook, don’t panic lets just go to the information desk) I ask the lady at the information desk and she said the train for Prague didn’t depart from this train station (uhoh) and I would have to catch the metro to the other station. I quickly got directions since I only had 15 minutes until my train left. I had to take the metro to Philadelphiabruke (literally translates to Philadelphia bridge – I learned bridge from Rosetta stone before I left! Yay I am using something I learned) So I quickly bought a metro ticket and went to go wait for my metro, but wait . . I didn’t get it validated . . . , and I didn’t want to go through that whole mess again, so I went back down the escalator to find a validator. I found one and I heard my metro arrive, but by the time I got back up it was closing its doors and I missed it. I then had to wait for the next one (luckily they arrive frequently, but I am on a time crunch, ahhh, not again!) Another one comes and Philadelphiabruke is the 4th stop. It’s a quick ride thank goodness and I arrive at my train station without any problems. (I even beat my train there! Yay!)

The train ride was uneventful except for this couple that joined my room who were talking normally in German then when they apparently wanted to have a private conversation they would lower their voices and cover their mouths as the talked. I found this funny because apparently I look like I speak German (:-D) and I found it funny since they could have been shouting at each other and it still would have been a private conversation.
It rained for most of the train ride, and I just prayed it
One of the halls of my hostelOne of the halls of my hostelOne of the halls of my hostel

Not the biggest one I have stayed in but it has a lot of rooms
would stop raining for me to walk to my hostel since the directions told me it would be about a 10 minute walk from the train station and it can be hard to find.

I get into Prague (not raining, yes!) and I was told it was gorgeous, but as I get off the train and walk to my hostel it looks like any other city, nothing special. I had booked several days here and I was thinking that I had made a mistake. As I walked to my hostel the city became a little sketchy and I didn’t know how comfortable I was going to feel here. The guy who checked me in looked high as a kite and I really was thinking “what have I done?” Luckily the hostel itself was nice and clean and I told myself not to judge since I hadn’t gone walking around in the city and to give it a day tomorrow before I decide to go somewhere else, but so far Prague has a lot of catching up to do!

B



Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb