Zagreb - Plitvice Lakes National Park


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia
May 6th 2016
Published: May 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

This will be my last blog for this trip. We finish our trip in Zagreb, the capital of Croatia, population 1million.

From Zagrb we visited Plitvice Lakes National Park. On our way there we stopped in Rastoke. What was interesting about this village is that streams and waterfalls run under the houses.

The Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia’s most popular tourist attraction, and a UNESCO World Heritage site since 1979. My niece had told me that you can't go to Croatia and not visit the lakes and she was right. The lakes are a definite must-see in Croatia. There are a series of sixteen lakes, inter-connected by a series of waterfalls, and set in deep woodland populated by deer, bears, wolves, boars and rare bird species. The lakes join together over a distance of 8 km. Unfortunately the day we went it was raining, it had been raining fot 2 weeks and part of the park was closed due to flooding. We were unable to visit the upper lakes, they we not allowing anyone up there and part of the lower lakes were also closed. With all this my pictures don't do it justice. But it's worth looking it up on the internet.

I can't tell you much about Zagreb, as I didn't see much of it. We arrived mid day on the 3rd of May. We wailked around town, ate, did a bit a shopping. The next day we visited the lakes. Coming back to the city I felt nauseated. I thought maybe it was motion sickness, but it was not, so I spent the remainder of out time in Zagreb in bed. I'm not feeling 100 %, but a least I'm able to travel. The trip from Zageb to Frankfurt was tough, but we spent the night here and I got a gooh night's sleep. Hopefully the remainder of the trip will go well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb