Dubrovnik


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia
September 7th 2011
Published: October 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

DubrovnikDubrovnikDubrovnik

One of my favourite photos
I arrived after a much needed sleep on the overnight coach from Zagreb early in the morning, luckily enough. I would have felt luckier at the time if I had known just how busy the old town got during the day! It was nice trying to find my hostel to have the old town to myself bar the people setting up their businesses for the days' trade.

I found my hostel just as it was starting to get hot. Lugging a wheeled suitcase (albeit only a cabin sized one) over all the cobbles and up countless stairs was hard-going in the cooler dawn air, let alone the 35 degree heat I would be experiencing later.

I dumped my stuff and went to Banje beach to get a bit of sunbathing in. The beach was tough on the old feet and quite dirty, as well as crowded, unfortunately. I sunbathed for about an hour and remembered again that I actually find lying under the sun boring, so I made my way back to the hostel and checked in before doing the City Walls walk. This is an absolute must for all visitors to Dubrovnik. The sun was unrelenting, but I'm
HarbourHarbourHarbour

with Lokrum Island in the background
not going to complain about that! Took loads of pictures as you can see. They speak for themselves!

I had signed up for the curry night at the hostel, which was lovely! I then hit the bucket bar with Daryl and Michelle where we got absolutely hammered! Not my greatest idea with the impending Montenegro day trip that I had signed up to.

After Montenegro (see that blog if you want to read more) I rushed to go up the cable car in time for sunset with Daryl and Michelle. This is another absolute must for visitors to Dubrovnik. Try to do it in time for sunset because the views are
nothing short of spectacular (see for yourself)! The cost of the cable car was a bit steep but I can't really blame them as it was only recently rebuilt after the old one was bombed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 80, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Dawn in DubrovnikDawn in Dubrovnik
Dawn in Dubrovnik

Minus the tourists
Old townOld town
Old town

from City Walls


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb