Day 16: Munich/Zadar


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Zadar
August 19th 2017
Published: August 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

All before 8:30 am I bought a souvenir, bought breakfast, bought snacks and asked the rental car company what would happen if I indeed did got a speeding ticket. They said they'd mail it to me if the police decide to follow through with it. I got a text alerting me that the bus was going to be 45 minutes late. We were supposed to leave at 8:50 and didn't leave until 10:00 am. As I was loading my suitcase onto the bus I almost had a heart attack. I noticed one of the travel locks was missing. Did someone break it? Then I realized I unlocked it last in the hostel throwing stuff in at the last second. I also remember placing the keys on the floor. The keys in the same ring were for both locks, and my house keys. I dug into my backpack and thankfully they were there. I must have forgotten to put the lock back on, but still took the keys. Otherwise I'd have to replace my keys, and wouldn't be able to access the bottom half of my suitcase. The bus had USB ports for each seat. Sweet. Once we got going I get on the bus and recline my seatback maybe two notches. About a minute later I got a tap on the shoulder from the people behind asking in broken English to move my seatback to where it was. Are you fucking kidding me?! How much beast are you where you don't have enough room when I did that? It's not like I reclined it so far that she could have check for cavities. I moved it up one notch but then moved it back when she went to the can. The theme of day seemed to be traffic and rain. South of Salzburg we stopped for 30 mins where I had some pretty good rest stop food (quiche). In Ljubljana, Slovakia I transferred busses to take me the rest of the way. At least all of this bus riding and USB port access allowed me to catch up on blogging. There was little daylight left at 8:30 pm. Looking out the window I could see there were cliffs on my side of the bus. We were on a tight twisty two lane road. Hmmm. Maybe taking the bus wasn't such a good idea. At the Slovenian/Croatian border we had to get off of the bus and show our ID's and walk across the line. The whole time I've been updating the hostel in my ETA. I knew I wasn't going to make it within their normal check-in window. The theme of day was traffic and rain. South of Salzburg we stopped for 30 mins where I had some food. In Ljubljana, Slovakia I transferred busses to take me the rest of the way. At least all of this bus riding and USB port access allowed me to catch up on blogging. There was little daylight left at 8:30 pm. Looking out the window I could see there were cliffs on my side of the bus. We were on a tight twisty two lane road. Hmmm. Maybe taking the bus wasn't such a good idea. There was one last gas stop/break. I was told in an email a taxi should be 40-50 Kuna but the taxi driver said because it's night time, it’d be 70 Kuna, or 9 €. I didn't really care. I just wanted to get to the hostel. I felt dirtier being on that bus than sleeping in the wagon It was really warm even with the rain. The receptionist communicated well regarding my arrival and was very welcoming. She even stayed until after midnight, two hours past the usual time, to check me in. I took a shower and unpacked. I sat on the benches until 2:00 am enjoying the warm, quiet night. After spending 14 hours on buses it felt really nice to be out there alone. I think not having my own space is beginning to get to me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb