Life gets going


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Varna Province » Varna
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

2 decisions - that despite the fact that I keep doing silly things like loosing passports I apppear to be able to rise above such inconveniences and that despite a torrential downpour on/off beach (12th) me and my new bulgarian phone are unstoppable even when edging towards the wet T shirt brigade (along with half Varna populous). 2 Rakias and a cheese -filled pancake helped a treat. Made the (free) hostel pickup and on way home visited a deli/butcher, coming away with 1and half kilo piece of pork for £3.50!! Yes please life is good and today I move banks, pickup my passport letter for Sofia (consulate) and visit my house in conjunction with Katia hopefully.This will be the first time she has seen it.We also will see the other property of Kapitals in that village and one that I am considering for investment. With luck I will also get my Metro card today as a result of my company docs. All for now(13/6). 15/6 - more water under the bridge ,not wet T-shirt this time. Best laid plans etc did not materialise - no Metro visit as bank took most of morning to transact.. Yesterday we did get underway with the viewing however, although I was slightly worried I could not see the house - not surprising we turned off in the village before Boyana - no signs !! So like turning the clock back to Oct - K and I once again out on the road with more experiences. When we found the village Katia liked my house and had a good suggestion re altering the outhouses. Next stage will be to bring builders out to consult. K has agreed to be along to translate for me. There is more damp in the outhouses than I remember but not worrying. The rest seems as remembered although the vines have become v. overgrown and a lawnmower should be the first purchase I think!! In the same village the other property I saw was if anything more ready for habitation and being one of Kapital's own properties the deeds etc are already vetted.. It was offered at 33,000 eu and at the moment my offer of 30 for this one also seems to be acceptable so Mon at 10.30 I am arranging to meet this owner for perelimin. contract hopefully and also phoning England (A+L bank) to arange transfer of completion funds for house one. For a country with outre(tomorrow ) attitude things really are moving fast. On the way back on the main Dobrich / Varna road we saw a fluffy ball in the midle of our side. On closer inspection it turned out to be a tiny kiten which was stranded with no obvious siblings or mum. Neither of us thought we could leave it to die ,as this would almost certainly have been the outcome, so I stuck it down my top and K asked several people in the village if they wanted it. No one did. So to cut a long story short Botev(found in Botevo) is residing on the van til I move and is feeding currently on spam type food and tin of sardines yesterday! Also milk and water. Aim is to get him fit and when we move he will then become a semi-wild beastie like the cats round the hostel.This will therefore ensure when I return to holiday he can survive.Will also get him neutered so he will not add to the homeless populous!! Today's beach trip was a blast as though the water was rough and therefore seaweedy it was lukewarm and a great relief from the sun. I had a fantastic £5 meal consisting of 2 charcoal grilled pork filllets, a pint pyrex bowl crammed to the brim with '11 veg', 500ml caraffe of white wine and a bottle of water. This I filled to take to the beach with wine I did not drink there and then, and subsequently returned to the restaurant for a further flagon and again extras replenished bottle. This was consumed whilst waiting for the free hostel pickup. I bought a belt in the market that am on way to office and found it had no tongue(?!) so on the way back I called at the stall ,explained the problem and got it swopped for a complete one with no hassle.Another tick for Bulgaria. Tomorrow I have nothing I have to do and so the beach(and restaurant) will probably be my destination for as long as the weather holds. 30o C again today. Factor 16 however seems to be working. Chow chow or bye for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb