PROGRESS AT LAST


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Varna Province » Varna
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So what annoyed me on Thurs border stupidity in Serbia/Macedonia. But jumping ahead as I missed out beautiful stay in Croatia(just outside Zagreb).Crosing the border had been interesting with brown water lying 2 inches deep across main road and a bow wave that would have done credit to a speedboat,in amongst the lashing rain.Unfortunately wipers don't have a fast speed so it was quite interesting as lightning struck the ground off the road side. However with the car behaving and new rain repellent tyres on front wheels I felt ready for all challenges and as time was for once on my side, I pushed forward towards Zagreb to try and catch up on lost time. I found a sign for a campsite just outside Zagreb which was part of a large Hotel/Sports Complex. It was set on the banks of the river and manned by a very pleasant man who offered schnaps to me and showed me where to go.The rain had inflicted some damage on the site but any puddles seemed to rapidly drain away and the rain continued to hold off.There were a family of ducks, and swans also which though not tame came right up to the van!! Unfortunately a step outside to take photos soon turned to an undignified retreat as Daddy swan appeared defensively out of nowhere!! Trying to get back in a van whilst negotiating 2 tyres on floor would have done justice to you've been framed.(Have to say I wasn't worried I was on my own!) The next morning I left at 7.30 for the Bulgarian border crossing down in the south of the country with the expectation of camping in Dupnitsa that nite. On the way i was delighted to see storks and cranes just grazing along the verges and masses of buzzards overhead and on fence posts. Other animals included a cat chasing prey on the verge and a tortoise moving slowly across the fast lane to the central reservation! Hope there was no tortoise sandwich that day. So moving swiftly on I reached the Serbian border. My passeporte was confiscated until I'd bought a green card as they were not EU and couldn't be bothered to look at the clause in my insurance re green card countries. Fortunately they had a cash point where they could ring through for confirmation of funds.A little nerve-wracking itself as I hadn't been on a computer to check on situation. OK so I thought that was me on my way but had to wait for a queue of pushy Turkish lorry drivers to go in front whilst tel link was set-up. Unfortuatly they stll kept coming after ok was given and in the end I said "enough me now" which the official respected and told others to use other booths. They were not best pleased and I think this displeasure may have come back to bite me once on the road. The van has poor acceleration but good staying power unfortunately not enough to overtake the lorry that I nearly kept running in to but which accelerated delib I believe each time I was level with the front. 3 times I tried but decided to slow off the pedal and travel back a bit.However when despite best intentions I was sitting on his bumper I made 1 last attempt and this time he did not speed up. On getting by I flashed the indicators and got a toot for my thanks. Guess entante cordial established. So passeport retrieved I continued on until I had to stop for petrol. The station was not modern and only accepted cash so I had to use euros and Denars to top up.I wasn't worried however as I knew I wouldn't need cash till Bulgaria the next day. I never learn , as having chosen the lower crossing, I had to go into Macedonia before Bulgaria.Yes another green card payment required. This time for 60 eu not 50 but also this time the bank had no provision for card transactions and I had no cash. couldn't believe it and neither could other stranded nationals with no green cards. Unfortunately they were not very pleasant officials to put it politely. One of the other drivers was also English,driving a rented pickup and he had no money either. The cashier had suggested I could take a taxi(she used to go home) and go into the town 5 mins away .So having cleared his actions (going off with a random female) with the wife we set off which cut the cost down to 5 eu each . I decided to try and get extra eu at the time to save a stop tomorrow. First problem was that they only produced denars at the cashpoint and I didnt want extras of them so we then with the help of the charming taxi man (some Macedonians are nice) and his calculator worked out what we should need and both added a few extra for all security. However it didn't allow my card in the cashpoint at which point some 2 and a half hours after arriving at the crossing I was nearly in tears of tiredness and frustrarion. It took Simon's and we had decided to try another point for me.It also took his notes back into the machine before he could get them out!! So he had to start again.Hope he gets the first lot back from his own bank. Having heard of this i hastily snatched my notes after having found a Visa cashpoint. 3 hours later I said bye to him and his wife and proceeeded the aprox 20 miles to the Bulg border - must have been the most expensive 20 miles ever.Needless to stay when I retrace my route eventually I will use the top crossing. The even more farcical thing being that having racked up in a deserted petrol station (as driving was getting dangerous from tiredness) overnite I travelled the short way to Dupnitsa to find a campsite that locals said didn't exist!! SoI needn't have gone down below anyway. I pushed on to Sofia where there should have been a municipl site and may have ben but I could find no signs .Now this was my beloved new country adding to the anxst. Struggling with Sofia's roadsystem (noticed as bad as a pedest in Oct ) I saw a sign for Varna (like a beacon beckoning ) and I followed the roads on to the motorway . Thought that parking in Varna was impossible and certainly not overnites in the cab and therefore headed towards Terry and Georgie's hostel as I remembered having ben driven.Nearly made it but didn't go far enough as from memory it seemed much closer to the turn off the bridge. I tried a second poss but realised that was completely wrong so headed for the road by the sea gardens where the hostel bus picks people up. Managed to get a park and headed into town to the internet cafe to find no for Gregory's Hostel. Eventually found it and got through to Terry. Got instructions and luckily found that they had room so got directions.However I boobed again turning R before not after the bridge and ended up in customs area by river! So rang again and this time retraced my steps taking the correct turning off the bridge but at this stage I was starting to get paranoid as I say I'd misremembered how long the leadup road took but in the end went for it and found the left turning I'd remembered. I parked the van outside and took min things into the room ,said hello then ran the van back down the hill to the flat area by the village green.It remains there still. I e-mailed Vanya to say I'd call on Fri re house position. I got a fantastic welcome from Nadya and Kate who I thought would probably beout on the road and then headed into Vanya's office to find out situation. The company had ben registered and my docs (and stampper!!)-yes I have my own official stamp! were being brought around by the solicitor and that the vendor's mum(dealing with the sale)was calling around re prelim contracts etc at 5 after work. Kate and I then had time to catch up whilst waiting for remaining docs from solicitor and she got the chance to look at my photos. Once docs arrived I then went off to the Beach (now one of about 4 I found today) and as there were waves from the leftover storms had a great time in them since the sun was not really constant enough to compensate for breeze when sunbathing. The meeting went off OK and then K agreed that we could go look at the house on Mon and see the other one I liked the look of in the same village. So today I returned to the Sea Gardens beach area and took the little tram/train to the zoo. For a developing not rich country the exhibits and suroundings put the Salzburg zoo to shame. I want to go there again with more shots in the camera so that I can take pics but today I bought photos . The house situation is that I am signing prelim agreement on Mon pm (+ 10% dep )and then take completion on 1st of july.(remaining 90% of price).Still don't know the address but Vanya said if there is any important/urgent mail it can be sent to the office.(Address avail on request if necess.) So that's all up to date and I think most of the events covered. Will contact again soon.
supergran.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb