Vitosha Natl' Park and Plovdiv


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Plovdiv Province » Plovdiv
June 16th 2006
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Guess what!??!?! Depeche Mode is coming to Sofia on the 21st, and Bucarest on the 23rd. It will probably be sold out by the time I get to Bucarest, but if not I'm definitely going. "Reach out and touch me..."


Yesterday I went on a hike up to Vitosha natl' Park, the mountain only a few kilometers from Sofia. The taxi ride there was crazy, with the driver making up lanes, muttering in Bulgarian and hitting the ceiling of the taxi at random times. I rode up the lift half-way up the mountain, the other lift, apparently, "ne rabotayet" wasn't working, though I think it was just because there was nobody else there so they didn't want to run it just for me. I was trying to hike up to cherni vrukh, the black peak which is over 2290m in height. I climbed on a mostly empty stomach, though I had water I only had one apple and one little wedge of cheese to eat. As I got higher it changed from deciduous to coniferous to a big plain up high, then to rocks and scrub. At the very top it was very cloudy and at one point I
The Infamous SignThe Infamous SignThe Infamous Sign

Absolutely Forbidden
could only see 15 feet in front of me. I thought I was on the path to cherni vrakh finally, but then I came across a sign that said: SOMETHING SOMETHING ABSOLYUTNO SOMETHING and I took those last two words as ABSOLUTELY FORBIDDEN so I turned around. I did get to the weather station, which is very close to the top. On the way back I was late so I half ran down, got lost, saw a deer which by the way make horrible scary sounds when scared, and then found my way back. The staff were extra mad to run the lift just for me, then I got another taxi cab home.

I have more time than I thought, so I went to Plovdiv, the second largest city in Bulgaria. The old town is very nice, more relaxed than Sofia. I got some great icecream for a Euro, pistachio dad- along the pedestrian street. The only problem is that all the stores on it are Western fashion. It seems that Greece and Bulgarian cities are 85% fashion boutiques, 5% apteki (pharmacy) and the rest sell pizza and local eats. By the way- a slice of pizza cost me .90 leva, which is about 50 cents.

Then I went to victory hill to see the monument to the soviet army, which was a real Soviet Monument, with a big statue and a great view of the city.

I only brought two shirts because I wanted to buy more here, and I wanted a real Bulgarian shirt with Cyrillic on it, but then I realize now that the only shirts I have seen with cyrillic are the ones sold to tourists that say "Bulgaria" on it. And I refuse to where a Bulgaria shirt in Bulgaria. So, I guess I'll just settle with a United Colors of Benneton shirt, because its everywhere here.

I'll add more pictures later, I'm going to the beach early tommorrow morning. Ciao! (they say that here, too.)

Advertisement



16th June 2006

Buy Me a Shirt
Dear Nephew and Quasi-Namesake: I am not too proud to wear a Bulgaria t-shirt in Cyrillic. And besides it will look pretty cool on you when you get back to the U.S. Buy two. I need extra large, I'm getting fat these days. I'll reimburse you. I'm enjoying reading your blog, though it makes me jealous. What a great adventure! I admire your spiritual hardiness---I don't think I could stand to take such a trip by myself. But you're good company. Your dad arrived here yesterday and he took Hallie for a long walk this morning. Stewart and Edith and David Cohen got in around lunch time and I think they all went out for barbecue for lunch with your grandparents. I guess you'll be happy to have missed that meal. We're all going to get together for dinner tonight and then off to the beach tomorrow. Sam and your mother are flying in Sunday to Myrtle Beach. We will miss you! We'll try to capture some sort of stinky marine life specimen in your honor. Keep those blogs coming.
17th June 2006

pr
david, we miss you but I am so jealous of your adventures! vsevo khoroshova! tyotya stewart
17th June 2006

So jealous of your adventures. .
Sorry I haven't posted to you earlier. . been a busy gal. . But still, thought I would drop a line, let you know that you are missed here in Anchortown. . .Glad Europe has embraced you. . makes AP Euro worth it, eh?. . :D But seriously, glad you're getting some fun out of all of this. Maybe I'll see you when you get back. . . unless you are going straight to college, in which case. . be that way! Have some fun for me!
18th June 2006

David, I'm really, really depressed, not being with you in Bulgaria. I've just become to accustumed to not having to pay for vacations. I'm at your computer right now with Momo sitting in my lap sleeping. Hope you brought those multi vitamins, 'specially if you are stilll only eating bread and cheese. I'm with you in spirit, Tim
18th June 2006

scalp!
You can probably scalp a ticket for just about any show if you spend a few days budget. I got a ticket for the Rolling Stones in Switzerland while still on a train platform, it just cost me 2.5 days budget. No regrets. If life is cheap in Bulgaria stay a while. Relax for a day...

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb