Cherno Morye (The Black Sea)


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Varna Province » Varna
June 19th 2006
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Trabant (I'll Not Die Today)Trabant (I'll Not Die Today)Trabant (I'll Not Die Today)

These East German beauties have a body made out of compressed paper. The painting says "I'll Not Die Today" We have seen a Lada for sale for 200 leva, about 120 dollars.
Well, the Black Sea is different than I expected. I took a 6 hour train to Varna, the northern sea capital, and was instructed by my guidebook to go the the Mladost bus station, so I took a mini bus, but instead of Mladost station I went to the Mladost bus stop. For the first time it was hot, and I was wandering around outer Varna, away from the shore, which is the most Stalinist I have yet seen in terms of tower blocks per square kilometer. Finally I gave up and took a taxi.

I took a bus to nearby Balchik, and the hotel I stayed out was owned by someone who didn't speak english but used to be a spanish teacher. Thank you, Sra Nishamura. The weird thing about the beach was that Balchik was supposed to be less cheesy, but every seaside restaurant had, starting at 9:00, a singer and a Casio playing songs such as "Crazy," "Hit Me Baby One More Time," and "Venus." There was lots of ice cream to eat, and I forgot to mention how I've mostly stopped eating bread and water. I have usually one meal at a restaurant per day, and
Queen Maria's PalaceQueen Maria's PalaceQueen Maria's Palace

I read she left her heart there. Stupid bourgeois, gets her own palace, and for what? Being royalty?
most of the hostels include a rudimentary breakfast. In the rest of the day I have pizza, or bread and Fanta. I've kept up my energy by drinking 2 liters of Fanta, sweet fanta, per day. Gross, but the Mango Beat Fanta is the best so far but it only comes in 1.5 liters.

Bulgarian food is good for vegetarians, with lots of emphasis on salad and yogurt, they drink yogurt and water called airan, and they have yogurt soup called tarator, and they have yogurt salads too. I think Romania will be harder to get by.

The Black Sea is mostly clear, though not as much as the Mediterranean, and a little cooler. I saw a sea snake, and I swam around a bit. I also saw the former sea palace of the Queen of Romania, when that part of Bulgaria was part of Romania. It has the second largest cactus garden in Europe, dad. Well, I'm taking a night train to Romania tommorow. Cheers, I miss you but I'm still having fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Beautiful BulgariaBeautiful Bulgaria
Beautiful Bulgaria

The old new Bulgaria


20th June 2006

Ochi chornya
David, so jealous you are at the black sea. One more thing you have over your aunt. We're having fun at the beach, Jane and sam got in last night, and Uncle Mike comes tomorrow night. Wish you and Emma could be here, but so happy for your adventures!!!! Are you finding any pelmeni or piroshki or similar things???
20th June 2006

good to hear from you
we are at the beach and everyone misses you. Everyone says hello. I've been scavenging the beach but there are no horseshoe crabs to be seen. I think there was a storm before we came last year and that's why there was so much sealife. I haven't seen anything except broked shells and an occasional jellyfish. Before I left for LA, I entered your other three Middlebury choices and I guess we can see what happens during registration. More later. Love, mom
21st June 2006

Hey Dave!
David, I never got the link to this site and had to have Tim email it to me, which is why I haven't spoken to you yet. Anyway, from you last couple of entries it sounds like you're having a ball. I'm glad you're eating now as well. USE THAT CALLING CARD I GAVE YOU!! We love you Dave.
22nd June 2006

David, we need to figure out where we're going to meet. I fly into Germany on the 2nd of July. E-mail me at the usual and we'll figure stuff out. AS SOON AS YOU GET THIS E-MAIL MEEEEE. See you soon, Big Homie.
24th June 2006

Hey David , It sounds like you are having a great time!! i hope you are absorbing all the culture and art! like a sponge.;) we all miss you back in the AK and wish you many good times! lots love barb ps give any cute europeans my e-mail;)!
26th June 2006

Hey! I'm going to the Black Sea next month. It's gonna be awesome. You should go to Yalta and we'll see each other. It's weird to be at home and hear so much Russian. By the way, i lost all of mine suitcases on the way back and they are still in DC.
26th June 2006

fuck the state.
seriously, you should have burned that bitches castle down.
27th July 2006

Hi there!!!
Hi! Very Nice blog and I can se you enjoyed quite well our trip to Bulgaria!! We are Franco-Bulgarian couple and we could advice you quite well on a next trip to Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam and Bulgaria... Of course about Cuba too as we just spent two years there.... And, soon also about Spain as we move there!!!.... So... Go an visit this blog http://whatsupinmadrid.blogs-de-voyage.fr/ And do not hesitate to contact us if you wish! See you Nicolas and Nora PS : We will be Varna from the 2nd of August

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb