Grad Sofia


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Sofia City » Sofia
June 14th 2006
Published: June 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was a little nervous about going to Bulgaria- even the Eurotrash hostellers, some of them said they wouldn't go there. Well, its a great city- people are quiet, unlike Athens, and the numbers are almost the same as Russian so its more comprehensible. I am staying at a great hostel with free breakfast, the food is really cheap - 2 liters of fanta = 1 euro, and a yogurt drink is 25 cents instead of 80 in Greece. Its very nice, I'm going to try to hike a little tomorrow. I am going to go watch a world cup match downstairs, ciao! (that's what they say here, too.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Aleksandr Nevskii CathedralAleksandr Nevskii Cathedral
Aleksandr Nevskii Cathedral

Bulgarians seem to be the only Eastern Europeans who don't mind the Russians, Alex Nevsky is a Russian hero.
Anti war posterAnti war poster
Anti war poster

it's a world party, everybody is against the war in Iraq.


14th June 2006

trip to bulgaria
How did you get to Bulgaria? Was the scenery nice? Do some Bulgarians speak English?
15th June 2006

Hey David
Wow, it sounds like you are having a grand summer adventure. Please stay safe. I know eastern europe is more stable now, but I don't want to read about a kidnapping in the newspaper. I love the anti-war poster. Love, Megan
15th June 2006

Is it...
...everything you hoped for?
15th June 2006

We climbed north suicide today
Hey david! me cory and tim climbed north suicide today, it was really great! we missed you, david H bailed on us morning of, but whats new. so we were completely davidless. how sad. We left at about 7:45 and got out there pretty early. we summitted about 12:30 and had some lunch then hiked back, it was after four by the time we made it back to the car, so it was a pretty good hike. But tim left his GPS on the summit, major bummer! So it sounds like the real trick to staying under budget is to just go to poor countries. Ill have to keep that in mind. I leave for bristol Bay tomorrow, so this will be my last comment for a while, we all miss you a ton! Drew
15th June 2006

rest of the message
Perhaps I'm becoming less tech saavy. Anyway, the movie we saw was called "Werckmeister Harmonies". Have you heard of it? Tonight, I'm going to try and finish my imovie. I'll write more later. Love, mom

Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb