Western life


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello again. Today I've decided to add more flavour to this blog...and to make it in a special way, since it's the first one for 2008. Some weeks ago (back in 2007) I had the opportunity of travelling in some other cities from Belgium. I have to shamefully admit that before landing in Brussels, the only other city I knew was Antwerp, but I wasn't sure what for. Now, having the chance to see some more around, I also grabbed my camera and wondered as much as possible. Because it's been such a long time since I traveled, I hope you'll excuse me for the random order of thoughts and photos..will you? will you? Well, first I will explain what's up: I've become extremely lazy in writing since this crazy thing called "facebook" came around...hmmm..and you see, posting pictures with small titles is faster and easier than just throwing words on a blank page, or at least that's what I thought. But comes a time when you are asking yourself what is that for and if that can be left as a "legacy".
I've been here for almost 6 months now, 6 months that passed so fast - it seems like yesterday I was landing..oh, well, who's counting in the end? Ehh, I have to confess that it was difficult to find my place in this country, it's so different from my previous experience. I can't blame the Western life, I can say it's the influence of such a mixture of cultures; people behave so different, react so weird (or don't react at all), think in so many ways...more than that, there are so many ways of seeing the social strata that you can get confused at some point...the only (first) thing you can do is watch and learn. There are not enough words, not to express, but to explain what Belgium is - better said, what Belgium is made of. It has "small" political issues that do not contribute "too much" to the welfare of the nation, but hey, we "the mortals" are just small ants here, what can WE do?!
Sorry for deviating from travels a bit - promise to get back on track in a sec 😊 I just wanted to say that when one meets another culture, he/ she could if not embrace it, at least accept it - not even try to understand it - and most of all, respect it. That's why I totally love all the place I've been to so far, love the pictures I took here and there and respect the way of living of all these people. Once you know a bit about the culture and how things work, there's no problem anymore - and here I am now, with no problems, got the picture! And talking about pictures....here are some random ones.

As usual...enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Rabbit steak with potatoesRabbit steak with potatoes
Rabbit steak with potatoes

Traditional Belgian dish
MuslesMusles
Musles

They say that the best is to eat them in Brugge or in one of the cities next to the sea.
Canal/ channel in BruggeCanal/ channel in Brugge
Canal/ channel in Brugge

The city is sliced in several cannals that are quite attractive to the turists...one thing: try summer if you don't want wind under your skin.
Belgian chocolateBelgian chocolate
Belgian chocolate

like everywhere....delicious!


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb