In Bruges


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » West Flanders » Bruges
July 24th 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Getting to Bruges this morning was a challenge. I packed my bags (while everyone in my dorm room was still sleeping) and headed over to the Gare du Nord train station, about a fifteen minute walk. (Probably would have been less if I wasn't wearing 25kg of luggage, but anyway...) Bought a ticket for the train and went to the track to wait for it. I had about a half-hour wait. The train didn't arrive. It was supposedly running 13 minutes late, but it was certainly more than that. The next train going to Bruges arrived before that one did, so I jumped on. Funnily enough, I met one of my dorm roommates, Jess, on the track, so we sat together on the train. It was more like a commuter train (think GO train) as it had two levels, and nowhere to store luggage. The tiny little shelf above our heads wouldn't even fit my little backpack, so I didn't bother. We squished ourselves and our backpacks into three seats (poor Jess was sitting beside the bags) and we chatted our way to Gent, where Jess got off the train. Anyway, made it to Bruges, made it on the bus to the hostel, and found a sign on the door saying I couldn't check in until 4:00pm. It was about 1pm at this point. I rang the bell anyway, and luck was on my side. I was let in, and checked in. Nice to be able to leave those heavy bags in my room.

I headed into town, and passed several canals along the way. The architecture here reminds me of Amsterdam, or maybe it reminds me of Bruges! It's been 20 years or so since I was here, but it definitely has a Dutch feel to the place. (Must be the Flemish influence. 😉

I walked past some windmills, and walked all over town, checking out the sights. I think I took a million photos. It started to rain a bit, so I stopped to take out my umbrella and put my camera away. I think this is about where I lost my fleece sweater. (Note: I've already lost one fleece on this trip on the train to Prague, so I was quite upset to lose my only other sweater.) I didn't notice this at the time, and headed to the Markt square, took lots more photos, and then headed to a place known for its ice cream. Leaving the ice cream shop, I realized my sweater was missing. I retraced my steps back to the shop, and asked about the sweater. No luck. I retraced my steps to the Markt square. No luck. I went back to the ice cream store and asked again, no luck. At this point, I was quite upset, especially as it was getting a bit more chilly out. Finally I retraced my steps further, and stopped at the place where I had taken out my umbrella. No luck. I headed back to the Markt and passed by a bicycle with a basket, and there was my sweater! Hallelujah! Someone was smiling down on me today. I know you're thinking that I could have bought another sweater here, but honestly, I don't have $60-70 for a crappy souvenir sweatshirt. (And yes, with the exchange, they are that expensive.) Not to mention that most women's clothing here doesn't fit me. 😞

Anyway, I continued exploring, and finally when my feet were killing me, I took the Bruges tour bus to see what I'd missed. Apparently, not much! I did get some history and details that I didn't know before, and saw some good photo op locations, so not all was lost. After the tour was over, I went to a pasta take-out place that was suggested on the "Use-It" tourist map. Pasta Presto had cups of pasta for just under 3 euros. I got pasta with salmon in a rose sauce, and it was delicious. A little peppery for my taste, but really good! Gotta love when recommendations given in tourist maps and books are actually helpful. 😉

As I headed back toward the hostel, I stopped at a bunch more places to take photos, locations I had seen from the tour bus. It was 9:30pm, and it still wasn't dark out. Weird. I didn't think I could last long enough to stick around for night shots. Oh well.

Tomorrow I head to Lille, and am meeting up with a friend of a friend from Toronto. A great opportunity to practise my French on things other than "un sandwich et un coca light en cannette, s.v.p." 😉

Only 5 days until I'm home! Better make 'em good ones!

Advertisement



24th July 2009

Hi! Glad you found your fleece sweater... sounds like you're having quite the adventure over there. And I actually understood that French phrase! Never knew they called it "coca" though.. Enjoy the last 5 days!
25th July 2009

What else would they call it?
Hi Jenn! I would hope that you'd understand that tiny bit of French... It's called coca as in "Coca-Cola". ;)

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb