Lille, it's lovely!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Nord-Pas de Calais » Lille
July 26th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived yesterday in Lille, and it's been go, go, go! I met my friend Valerie's friend Odile at the train station, and we walked to her friend's apartment where I was able to leave my bags. The three of us went out for lunch (I didn't mention that I'd had a sandwich on the train to Lille) and then Odile and I headed out to do a little walking tour of Lille. It's quite pretty! There is a Spanish influence to the buildings, and it used to be a cloth making city. It was also a fortified city, meaning walls around the (old) city and gates to enter/exit. We walked around pretty much the entire old city, and also saw the newer part, and the old university. Then we picked up my bags, and I checked into the hostel.

My roommates in the hostel are from Ireland and Germany. The Irish girl is happy to speak to me in English (a bit of a relief, in fact, after a day of French!) and the German girl is insisting on French, which is fine. I was able to relax for a little bit, and then I went to a party for one of Odile's friends. There were 5 of us in total, and while it was fun, and the food was good, I did have a bit of a hard time following the conversation. They speak quite quickly, and since they're talking about things in their lives (like TV stations in France, or their jobs), it was sometimes all I could do but listen. They did try and engage me in conversation from time to time, but even in English, I often sit back and listen to conversation around me when I don't know people.

The party ended at midnight, and Odile drove me home. She had also suggested taking me to Vimy Ridge, so we set up a meet time, and I headed into the hostel. All the others in my room were asleep. I tried to set up the charger for my iPod, but after a few minutes, I discovered it wasn't working. I think it's dead. 😞

After a night of restless sleep (it was quite noisy in this place), I got up, showered in a weird push-button shower, and then had breakfast with the German and Irish girls. I went off to the Tourist Office so I could get a map of Lille (to label my photos correctly once I'm home) and then I met up with Odile at 11am.

We headed to Vimy Ridge where there is a huge memorial statue, and then there are model trenches, and a tour of the tunnels. It was quite interesting. I think I learned more about WWI today than I did the last 25 years of my life! We then headed to Arras, where we had lunch -- pizza with a cream sauce instead of tomato. It was yummy! I treated Odile since she'd already been so nice taking me so many places. I mentioned that I had wanted to see Ypres too, or maybe would have gone there instead of Vimy if I hadn't gone with her, and she suggested going tomorrow before I head to Paris! Wow, is she ever nice!!!

After lunch we walked to the Tourist Office in Arras, since Odile knew that there were underground passages there. We did a tour of the ones that were used in WWI (and also WWII) and saw photos and heard descriptions. Apparently these underground passages were made in Medieval times, where they had a quarry to dig out the stone. They were then turned into underground tunnels by New Zealanders and used to move around for the Battle of Arras, which was fought mostly by English, Irish, Scottish, Australian and New Zealand troops. Apparently the French had been sent to a different location to fight another battle that was to take place at the same time, and the Canadians were in Vimy at this point too. (April 1917)

Anyway, after a very interesting, but tiring day (speaking and listening to French all day is tiresome!) Odile dropped me back at the hostel, where I've been relaxing. We're heading to Ypres tomorrow, and then I take the train to Paris in the late afternoon.

I don't know how easy it will be for me to access the internet, so this may be the last entry, I'm not sure. I'm back in Toronto on Wednesday evening, so feel free to contact me there at that point! TWO MORE DAYS OF THIS TRIP! I can't believe that the end is this near. See you soon!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb