A Bit of Brussels


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Not a terribly eventful day. Got up at 8am, showered, hung out at the hostel for a while (as my clothes were still drying!) and packed everything up by 11am. I left my bags there, and went next door where I had some yummy crepes at an amazing price! 4 little crepes (one cheese to start, then banana, then nutella, then cherry) plus Coke-like drink (actually had a weird taste to it) for less than 3 euros! Quite amazing!

I headed to the airport, where I waited around for an hour to check in. I was first in line and went through a bit of worry when the woman behind the counter couldn't find my name in the computer. I was on her printed-out list though, and finally ended up with a boarding pass. Phew! A little worrisome....

The flight to Brussels was pretty uneventful. I read, and then inevitably fell asleep. I seem to do that a lot while I'm traveling! Made it to Brussels fine, and was again happy to see my backpack come off the baggage claim conveyor belt. Found the bus to Brussels (the airport is an hour away -- gotta love Ryanair and their oh-so-close airports...) and hopped on. An hour later, I was at one of the train stations.

I took the subway to the hostel (their subway here is a little confusing) and checked in. At this point it was probably about 8:30pm and I still hadn't had dinner. Met two of my roommates, who are really nice, and then headed out. I took the tram to the Grand Market, the Stock Market (Bourse) and got some mayonnaise fries. Gotta have those in Belgium! Found the Mannekin Pis (the little peeing boy) statue and took a photo. At this point it was already 10pm, so I headed back. Brussels is a lot nicer than I remembered. Maybe I'll have to come back here someday too!

Tomorrow, off to Bruges!

Advertisement



23rd July 2009

ahh, yes...the infamous "peeing boy" statue...gotta love those belgians!
21st August 2009

Hey Sue, aww... we missed such a nice get together opportunity I have been living in Leuven for the past 8 months! 25min outside Brussels... its a nice small town with a pretty town hall! well, prolly too late now, hopefully, I will see you in Toronto soon.
26th August 2009

Never enough time
Hey Samie, nice to hear from you! I really wasn't in Brussels for very long. I think I arrived at 6pm at the airport, got into the city around 7, checked into my hostel and then headed out for dinner and sightseeing that lasted about 2 hours. Then I was off to Bruges the very next morning! This was a very whirlwind tour of Europe! :) Hope you're doing well.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb