The Hills are Alive...


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria
July 5th 2004
Published: July 5th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Dusk on WolfgangseeDusk on WolfgangseeDusk on Wolfgangsee

This was a dusk shot from the shores of the Wolfgangsee lake.
Well, I must admit it. I love "The Sound of Music." So, it´s only fitting that my first morning in Salzburg (after an overnight trainride) I should go on the original S of M tour through the city and surrounding countryside. What can I say ... it was right up my alley. We saw filming locations and sang along with the soundtrack as our large tour bus drove the narrow passes through the Salzkammergut. It´s always a fun time taking in those kinds of tours ... at least for me, a film fanatic! :-) My favorite part of the trip however wasn´t one particular sight. It was the glorious apple strudel with vanilla sauce and ice cream. So good!

The next two days my friends and I took in the Salzkammergut. It´s a beautiful lake region south and southeast of Salzburg. The combination of the hills and lakes blew me away. We spent time in nearly every town that borders these lakes. A few of my favorites were Hallstatt and Neumarkt (where we were staying). We had a gorgeous view of the alps from our balcony. Our first day was overcast, cold and rainy here and there, which is actually
Hallstatt Hallstatt Hallstatt

This is shot of the Luthuren Church steeple with the lake in the background.
a good thing since we visited Hallstatt on that day. In Hallstat, there are about 1300 people living in the town, but there is a lack of space for burial purposes. So, they created a skull house. After about 10 or so years in the ground, the bodies are dug up. After each skull is bleached and painted, they are added to the families in the skull house. It was an incredible site to see the skulls piled several high. Due to advent of cremation, very few decide to have their skulls added to the house. However, some still do ... they just have to submit a written testament wishing to have that process done. The cemetery overlooks the town and lake, where people are buried three deep. Quite an amazing sight!
The days following were just as enjoyable due to the sun which had finally emerged from the clouds. Driving from lake to lake was a wonderful way to take in this region ... I may not have if we hadn't rented a car. And, how can I forget our trip back into Salzburg to the Augustiner Blaubel. The monks brew their own beer. So, we each had a couple
A view to afterlifeA view to afterlifeA view to afterlife

This is the cemetery which faces the lake. The skull house is located behind me as I took this picture.
of 1 liter steins and brats, ribs and tasty pretzels. What a Salzburgian experience!
Now, after a day wandering through Vienna, I´m off to Budapest tomorrow. Yeah!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Wallersee from my balconyWallersee from my balcony
Wallersee from my balcony

This is lake Wallersee with the alps in the distance. Our hotel was located in Neumarkt.
Hooray, beer!Hooray, beer!
Hooray, beer!

Yeah for Augustiner Blaubel beer in an authentic 1 liter beer stein.


5th July 2004

Photo
What a beautiful photo of the Wolgangsee at dusk! The colour of the clouds is amazing...
7th October 2004

ah yes
I remember going there. That was an awesome experience

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb