Beautiful Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
July 11th 2004
Published: July 11th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Gellert SpaGellert SpaGellert Spa

Here is a pic of the effervescent bath. To the left and right of me are the segregated baths.
Ahhh, Budapest. I've been here for nearly 6 days so far. I've absolutely fallen in love with this city. When I made plans to come here, I had no idea how lovely it would be. Gus arrived mid-week and we've been taking in the city by bus and boat (and eating a helluva lot of doner kebabs). I had an incredible time on the river cruise which took off on the Danube at about 9:30pm. The Buda Castle, Freedom Statue, Parliament and other major sights and bridges were illuminated by lights. Breathtaking!
Yesterday, we spent the afternoon at the Gellert Spa, which channels the hot thermal springs from the ground. The Gellert Spa is supposedly the most famous of all the spas in Budapest. We didn't want to leave. In addition to a wave pool and warm thermal pool outside, there were several more bathing spots inside the complex. There were a few coed baths, but there were also segregated baths. Gus and I split up for a while to take in all the wonderful medicinal qualities of the slightly sulphuric spring water. In the women's side, there were two large pools ... one was 36 degrees Celsius and the
Gellert HotelGellert HotelGellert Hotel

This is the facade of the hotel where the thermal baths are located.
other was 38. Also, there was a steam room that was about 45 to 50 degrees Celsius. I could barely breathe in there because the sulphuric hot steam stung air passages. After the steam room, you could pop into the 18 degree pool for a shockingly refreshing cooldown (yeah ... I couldn't get farther in than my calves). It was wonderful to soak for a long time after all the sight seeing and walking around. I think we're going to head back tomorrow.
Overall, this city feels a little untouched by western culture which makes it that much more charming. I am truly enjoying the somewhat more affordable lifestyle as well. Gotta keep an eye on the budget ...
Well, we're off to Vienna and Prague next week and then Ireland. I can't wait to see more .... 


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Budapest at nightBudapest at night
Budapest at night

This is a photo looking down from the Castle grounds.


18th September 2004

Pablo
I live in Chile, my country. But i had a great amount of luck because i knew Budapest. I love it, and day by day i remember it, i can't forget the streets, a little coffes, and the women, they are so beautiful. When i was in Budapest, during the night, i wasn't to able to sleep, because i was thinking about all those beautiful women. Some day i hope to return to this place, for me, the most beautiful city that i had never seeing. Oh, i'm learning to speak in hungarian too
18th September 2004

Pablo
I live in Chile, my country. But i had a great amount of luck because i knew Budapest. I love it, and day by day i remember it, i can't forget the streets, a little coffes, and the women, they are so beautiful. When i was in Budapest, during the night, i wasn't to able to sleep, because i was thinking about all those beautiful women. Some day i hope to return to this place, for me, the most beautiful city that i had never seeing. Oh, i'm learning to speak in hungarian too

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb