Vienna, Austria


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
September 20th 2013
Published: August 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Munich, Germany to Vienna, Austria


I arrive in Vienna, tired but excited. The first task is to find the transit from the main train station. After spending some time finding my way around the train station, I finally find the right train to get on to take me to the correct stop where my hostel is located. The backpack is heavy, my feet were tired, but once on the train, I was refreshed and relieved. I make it to my stop, and depart the train station. Of course it is raining outside, but I put my rain jacket hat on, and trudge on. My hostel was very close, so it did not take too long to find. I started out on the complete wrong side of the street, but as I normally do, I just keep on keeping on until I find my destination.

I check into the hostel, and after cleaning up a bit, I make my way out to see what I can see. My hostel was right across the street from the Naschmarkt. Arguably the most popular flea market in Vienna, the Naschmarkt is among the oldest flea markets in the city, and covers a huge area while offering almost everything that you can think of. If you are interested in diverse international food items, then head to this flea market. You can find all kinds of fish, cheeses, spices, tons of olives and all sorts of fruits. The smell of the spices was really pleasant to my nose. The fish area..not so much.

Located just adjacent to the Naschmarkt, Vienna Flohmarkt (the german word for “flea market”) is Vienna’s largest flea market and one of the best flea markets in Europe. Surrounded by magnificent Art Nouveau buildings, it stretches for several blocks of stands hawking books, clothes, records, ancient electrical goods, old postcards, ornaments, carpets and many more, including what many would consider junk. When I went through this area, I was amazed at all of the American things that were for sale here. I suppose tourists from other parts of the world that would never get to the United States would probably be a sizable market to sell too. Individuals can offer objects for sale, too, and there is a large variety of things sold: high-quality collector’s items and furniture in need of minor restoration work as well as books, second-hand clothes, curiosities and junk. Its multicultural atmosphere attracts in equal proportions flea market enthusiasts, treasure hunters and tourists.

After taking an hour or so looking around, I decide to go into the main part of the city. I take the train and get off at one of the main stops. I exit the train station, and upon walking down one of the main shopping areas, I was reminded of how much this area looks and feel like Paris shopping district. There were high end clothes stores, and just walking down the different side streets was a thrill and joy to see. I make my way to St. Stephen's Cathedral. This is a gothic cathedral that was heavily damaged during World War II, but the roof was restored to its original looking tile roof. It was beautiful. I make my way in, and look at the infrastructure of the church. I could only go so far, for there was a service going on, but I did walk around and look as much as I possibly could. Very beautiful. Upon departing the cathedral, on the outside there are just rows of horse driven carriages. I was thinking how romantic this could be to couples. But for me, not so much. I noticed there were a lot of people dressed up like Mozart surrounding this area. There was a large opera house nearby, and there were many concerts that were being promoted. I really was not interested in this, for I was tired and it was rainy, so I make my way back to my hostel.

I awake the next morning eager to explore. I decide to do this on foot and just see what I see. I knew if I could walk around the Karntner Ring that I should be able to see a lot of interesting sights. The Ringstrasse (Ring Road) is a circular road surrounding the Inner Stadt district of Vienna, and is one of its main sights. Off I go not knowing what to expect, nor where this journey would take me. I decided to venture out and just start walking up a main street to see where I would end up. I was walking and walking, and my feet were telling me to turn around, but my mind was saying keep going. I am so glad I listened to my mind. After walking and sweating for approximately thirty minutes, I see a large palace in the near. I make my way there, and it was the Belvedere Palace. What a magnificent beautiful palace. I make my way through the front gate towards this massive beautiful structure. Once in front, I look back towards the main walk way and notice how beautiful the flower gardens are. After a few minutes gazing, I decide to walk around and see the other side. Upon arriving there, I was even more amazed that this side was just as beautiful as the front. What I quickly noticed was the shrub arrangements that, from where I was standing, looked like a large maze. I thought about trying to make my way through this, but I decided I would just walk to the furthest point I could walk, and take some photos. This was indeed a little bit of a hike, but the photos I took should speak for the beauty I beheld.

Upon departure from Belvedere Palace, I make my way back toward the main part of the city. I took a pretty long walk around the center of the town once more, and I stop for a meal which consisted of fish strips and fries. Not too bad, and this set me for the rest of the evening. Seeing the weather was not really cooperating with me, I decided to retire back to my hostel. I had to make my last train ride in the morning time, and I wanted to get rested up. Vienna is a beautiful city to visit. I hope to come here again some day, and if I ever do, maybe the weather will cooperate with me a little more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 142, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb