Mother Natures Backyard


Advertisement
Albania's flag
Europe » Albania » East » Korçë
August 7th 2011
Published: August 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

No, obviously I'm not in Albania but I can't blog without listing location but a hiccup in the program vs iPhone makes ut challenging! So Albania it is.

I survived a Saturday night in Killarney, from the chocker blocked pubs to the techno nightclub my hotel room was so conveniently placed above it was a good night! Mind you the pints of Guiness and Smithwicks I'm sure helped me vibrate my way to sleep gently (thump.thump.woowoo).

Yesterday I was feeling a wee bit like a caged bird who needed to stretch her wings when the perfect opportunity showed itself . After a quaint morning of cool villages, (Adare) cobblestone streets and lovely views, we arrived in Killarney and I had a free afternoon. So after standing in a doorway during a torrential downpour for half hour praying to the weather gods/dieties, the sun threatened to come out so I took a risk, hired a bike (with helmet) and off I went.

Incredibly it was the nicest weather Ireland has showed us to date. The clouds parted, the sun came out and I peddled away with slighly histerical glee heading to Killarney National Park. Ah, nothing is better than Mother Natures backyard I tell ya and this truly was a piece of paradise. Riding like a 7 year old who has been cooped up all winter I know caused more than a few stares from other tourists, but what did I care? I was freeeeeeeeeee, wind in my hair (well, helmet) sun in my eyes, and the most amazing scenery exploding every direction I looked. It was a Perfect (with a 'capital'😉 afternoon:-)

Killarney National Park sits right on the edge of the city so easy enough access and I only had to ride about 10 minutes in traffice (a bit nervewracking on the opposite side of the road). They has a lovely bike path set up that circumnavigated the loch, giving me opportunity to also see the Ross Castle and Muckross House. I also went to Torc falls, which had me locking up my bike and doing a very very steep ascent to the falls. I now see why Trafalgar does not offer this as an optional, for I fear many people would have found the hike far too challening as it left me more than a bit breathless. But well worth it.

I encountered a picnic spot with my name on it, me and Mr. Pickles sat and ate our sandwich with a light breeze, sun in our hair and our eyes filled with majesticly romantic scenery.

The views were stunning and I could not remember a more scenic bike ride, anywhere! Enven the excursion back was still as pleasant, I truly could not beliee my luck with the weather. Beautiful, beautiful Park and I highly recommend it to anyone who comes to this area. Hiker, cyclist, walker, or carriage ride, this park is a must!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.455s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb