The Ring of Kerry


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Killarney
August 8th 2011
Published: August 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Has a lazy morning yesterday, as I opted out of the optional excursion (as did about half of the group.) I think we all needed some time off, while this is truly a comfortable tour pace, always being on the go does get a wee bit tiring. We left the hotel at 11 yesterday to begin our anti-clockwise excursion of the famous and picturesque Ring of Kerry.

Just prior to leaving it was raining (go figure) and I was concerned our day would be ruined, but by some stroke of luck the clouds parted and the blue colours we are so familar with from home and even the sun came out. I tell you when the sun does come out the landscape is truly remarkable! I have never seen so many shades and textures of green, I only hope my photos will do it justice.

The Dingle Peninsula does not disappoint and the wee villages with Irish and some
Spanish influence (according to the Sheila-isms) is full of history and old fables
(go figure). I haven't been adding any fables on my blog, for fear of not remembering them properly, not quite believing them and simply hearing so many I would not know where to start!

Actually according to Sheila everyone somehow, someway is of Irish descendants, including our Canadian Inuit.... I may second guess that one as my belief was they were of more Mongoloid background, but then again I did skip a lot of history classes in school.

I was a bit surprised initially by the ages of the group as with the grandma to grandchild
groups (3) and mom with 2 sons and a daughter in law plus mom and son, there are 6
People under 30, one couple in their 30's and everyone else is over 50. Youngest is 20 oldest is 83. I suppose that makes me the 'mean' age!

I find myself spending most of my time with Kevin and Marie-Anne, a couple from
Montreal. They remind me of Gunta and Wally.( My aunt and uncle) Kevin has a sharp
sense of humour and Marie-Anne picks up on the underlying irony of things knowingly,
so much like G&W! Despite age differences I have made new friends and really am enjoying myself and am getting well taken care of also!

The Ring of Kerry is truly utterly breathtaking. I can't wait to go home and sort my photos; from the rugged coast lines, to golden sand beaches, to random donkey and dog friends, and tiny thatched villages along the way, it truly is a remarkable destination. We chatted over dinner last night and everyone simply agreed without question that the Rink of Kerry was their favourtie day.

Which brings me to the long awaited Be My Guest: We went to the Muckross Dairly Farm for our original dinner. First off we got a complete tour of the farm, while it's no longer active, it was until recently and still has the original farm equipment dating back to the 1900's. The livestock they had included goats, donkeys, Irish Sheep Hound Dogs, Clivesdale Horses and some poultry that I swear is a chicken/duck hybrid. A 'Chuck' we charmingly referred to him as.

Again the sun did not dissapoint and with dramatic storm clouds off in the distance, the late afternoon sun shining through, and the many shades of green yet again made for stunning scenery. I'm running out of adverbs to describe the country side, I must admit.

Dinner was in th efarmhouse, we had a wood fire going, and were served a wonderful homecooked mean that included a hearty Irish Stew (I had a stirfry!), Irish Coffee and bread and butter pudding. We sang songs, enjoyed the Irish music, tried desperately to understand what the musicians were saying when they weren't playing (accent is strong up here) and had suck a lovely evenig. Mary-Anne commented that was by far her favourite evening out and she simply loved the feel of the place.

Yesterday was wonderful; not sure how they are going to beat that, but even if it was the best of the best, I'm still confident the last 2 days will be a treat!

Now: off to brekfast, this wee lass needs more caffine:-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb