Yo ho ho & a bottle of rum (or two)


Advertisement
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi folks,
Time for another scintillating update. I've actually got an hour spare, seems to be so much to do & see. Currently moored in St. Kitts another heavenly spot, arriving this morning from Dominica, Barbados the day before. I am now a fully certified seaman! Had a medical in Barbados, to prove I'm alive & relatively fit, which resulted in a Mariner's Certificate. I've applied for the optional pegleg and parrot, which arrive later. A rather dishy doctor who seemed pleased with me (mind you it wasn't her body), certified in good shape which means amongst other things I qualify for watch on the bridge! Are they mad!! Don't think I'll be called upon though, seems they've got one or two bods for that already. I will have to muster people, in an emergency, from midships staircase to a station, & guide them to a lifeboat. I will be first in, of course. Also have been to various safety inductions. The guys regard it all as a drag, but very interesting to me, having been incarcerated in one pursuit for so long. There is life after Trading Standards & it looks good to me. A ship of any kind, is a little world of its own, the captain has powers of life & death in some circumstances. I was very nice to him when introduced.
At Dominica three of us went on a 5hr. rainforest hike. It is well named - it was very foresty, and it rained. We're talking stair-rods here! Got a little damp. Fascinating trees, great side butresses & creepers which looked like Jurassic Park - no dinosaurs, but quite a few nasty snakes lurking - you have to make plenty of noise. It seems they strike first and ask questions later. Dominica is a big volcanic caldera, but it is not an easy spiral to the top - you have to go up and down gullies about 500ft deep. I'm afraid age has withered me and I couldn't make it to the top in time, called the 'boiling lake' and was the thing seen in one of James Bond's movies. Still - a great trip.
The music continues to be super. Last night an Annie Lennox tribute (- Jayne, she looks & sounded just like her), a bit of a 'roast' as everything has to be just right - this is not all a holiday even if it sounds like it!! - and
soon we have yer actual Bucks Fizz (real thing this time). I'll be too busy to watch the skirts being ripped off, although in the dressing room I'll see them being put on again, so there are compensations.
Just off for a spot of sunbathing on the crew deck - a better option than the public ones, where you get at least one moaning northener! - 'the pies are cold,' 'it's too 'ot' etc. The brits do love being miserable, they only problem they've really got is they'll be back in Manchester before long !!
Still having probs. indexing the photos so hope these thrilling words are enough for now.
Take care
D




Advertisement



29th March 2009

HILARIOUS BLOG
Unc you are so funny. Keep these coming and please please attach some photos. We want to see the improvements in your upper body.

Tot: 0.467s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb