Days 3,4,5,6!


Advertisement
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi to all my fans,
Sorry about the gap, I've had connection problems on the boat, due to not officially being a crewman - that should change tomorrow. There may even be problems with this - let me know if this doesn't arrive! (eh?)
Life is good. 3rd day spent at Trinidad, where I blagged my way onto a coach tour and a rainforest walk to a waterfall. Interesting, as its a place of pilgrimage, with natives wandering in chanting & waving incense (or it could have been smoking pot....), lighting candles for a shrine. I don't know what they were chanting about, but I didn't wake up with four arms! Trinidad looks very industrial, I think they have oil reserves which makes the place relatively prosperous, but hardly idyllic. Bob Marley lookalikes hang about, waiting to pounce - their eyes tell you they envy us rich Western decadents! On that subject, most of the punters on board come from 'oop north', where obviously all the money is at the moment. It always was, if you ask me.
Have done morning bike trips at the other ports we've called at - Tobago and today at Grenada. Tobago is a beautiful place. Grenada not as good, unless it improves away from the coast, that's the trouble with boats, you only get to see areas around the port. Imagine visiting the UK and judging it by Newhaven!
Caribbean drivers are interesting. They love the horn and driving close, but are cheerful with it so you can imagine them singing a calypso over a crumpled victim. Cars are mainly American 4x4's and I've yet to see one without a massive clout, at bicycle height..... but not my bike, yet. When they get a pothole, they simply paint a white ring around it to make it pretty and sunken manholes are cheerfully common.
My fitness training has had results, the upper-body workout left me feeling like trampled by a herd of wildebeest. I could hardly hook the guitar on! It feels a it better now. I'm told I'm fine with the limbs & the cardiac bit - all that cycling & swimming - but the upper body is a writeoff, which I knew really, so that's what I'll be working on, when I get back as well. Next session - Friday. Oh dear....
The music is really good, the band really professional, a George Michael and Rod Stewart concert last 2 days (lookalikes, & very good). Tonight - a variety show. On our night off they put on an outdoor acrobatic display. So far, that evening has been the only chance to see 'sailoff' which is the highlight of cruising in my opinion,
watching the sunset, as usually we rehearse then.
Tomorrow is Barbados where I go and get registered as crew. A new lot of inmates arrive (I should say customers), and the week starts anew! A third of the way through already.
Still haven't mastered the photos so this screed will have to suffice for now. Hope everyone's well and the weather is treating you kindly.
Bye for now
D






Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb