First Day


Advertisement
Published: March 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi !
This is my first Travelblog entry so don't be surprised if I cock it up - my relationship with technology is well known!
I managed to find the ship in Aruba - luckily it's quite big. I've tried publishing a photo here, & failed - so that treat will have to wait until I have been teached! The journey was uneventful - arrangements like a well-oiled machine - unfortunately I didn't know the luggage went direct from plane to ship and it takes it's time to get there. Mild panic, as all was missing & I envisaged doing the whole 3 weeks in my travelling jumpsuit ( I look like a tellytubby) and making bass noises into a microphone..... but it all eventually turned up.
How sweet!
For reasons like this I left my old Fender at home this trip, and took the 5-string Yamaha ( types of bass guitar, for the non-musos), which can at least be replaced if it gets broken or missing. I like that Fender. I want it saved so I can be buried with it!
There's a spare double bass for me to continue my prowess with that instrument. Eventually I hope to convert the strange noises which emit, into something like music.
Straight into work when I arrived, an 'introductory' band session on the top deck - surprisingly draughty up there, although the breeze is warm. Rehearsal, and a staff show tonight.
Didn't see much of Aruba as the boat was soon off to Bonaire, where we are moored now. Too late to sort an excursion so I've had a look around. One of the poorer places, a few bleak looking shacks populated by furtive types and the odd rabid dog. Their animals look neglected and bark a lot (and a lot of good it does them). These Caribbean islands are all different, some rich, most poor, reflecting the status of the nation which once conquered them. The natives all look different too. Vary from pale black, through to midnight!
Stop press - I've arranged a personal fitness trainer!! Daily gym session. Everythings provided here, its so easy to become a slob. Lord forbid! So I hope to use the spare time properly. I'll get out & about on the bike trips too.
This is quite a good life - Steve has his head screwed on, making a go of it.
Not a lot else to add at this stage, I hope this gets more interesting when I get to visit places. We were due to go to Caracas, but it seems the natives are busy hacking away at each other, so it's off to quieter shores. Grenada, Trinidad, Tobago, Barbados, Dominica, Antigua are on the list then zoom off across the Atlantic to Madiera & the Med (icebergs & U- boats, permitting....). I return to Blighty, all being well on the 9th.
I'm traveling as a passenger currently but have to take a medical (where they count limbs, and not much else), then I qualify as crew, and cheaper drinks! That's the only difference really. I'll also have a role if the ship sinks. What use do they think I'll be I wonder? "Nearer my God to Thee" played in the key of E-flat on the sloping deck, will be my suggestion.
Anyway I'll write more in due course. You have been warned !!
Dynamo D





Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb