Happy in Hopkins!


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
December 18th 2008
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It poured the previous night in San Ignacio and didn't let up so I wasn't going to be spending my last day here lazing around the pool. I quickly decided to check out and head to Dangriga for the night (and the beach) in order to shorten the next day's travel to Placencia.

I enjoy changing plans, and after meeting Les on the bus I decided to go to Hopkins Village instead. Les is from Alberta (go figure), and is down here in Belize working on damming projects for Ducks Unlimited.

Hopkins is a tiny village just south of Dangriga and once Les negotiated a cab fare, we were off to Seagull's Nest. Not much to The Nest.....a tiny place with a shared kitchen, a veranda out front & 4 rooms. I went for a walk up the beach while Les sorted out my room with the owner, whom he knows. My room was clean and had a comfy bed. Perfect! (please note the high tech security at my door).

Les disappeared to grab a bite and asked me to watch for his friend Jim, who lives downstairs. Upon Jim's arrival I was offered a freshly squeezed glass
Hopkins Beach3 That's my foot!Hopkins Beach3 That's my foot!Hopkins Beach3 That's my foot!

Me amd my $5.00 flip flops (Belize Dollars...which make them $2.50)
of grapefruit juice from his outside kitchen out back. Such a great welcome!

After another stroll on the beach, I had an awesome shrimp dish followed by a Belikin in a quaint Chinese Restaurant - all within 2 blocks from home! Chinese restaurants that double as a bar and hangout for the locals seems to be quite the norm in Belize. Local men are quite curious about me and it doesn't take them long at all to ask if I am travelling alone. My quick response is always the same: "My friend Simon is back at our hotel room". This works perfectly as it isn't a lie, and sets the gentlemen apart from the less savory men very quickly. (Thanks Danielle for giving me the idea of naming my suitcase Simon!)

Simon always opens the door for an authentic conversation and full of useful information & insight into the "real Belize". Tonight's info gathering session got me the bus schedule for the following morning, the driver's name, as well as in invitation to Karaoke. I opted out of the Karaoke in exchange for a chat with Les on our veranda & watching the stars that appeared closer than ever before in my life. I felt I could have touched Orion's Belt!

I fell asleep very content, with the sound of the sea and a Downy fresh pillow! Another great day in Belize!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Room Rates in BZ DollarsRoom Rates in BZ Dollars
Room Rates in BZ Dollars

...which means I paid $12.50 US...such a deal!


5th January 2009

Hey There Girly
Ive been checking out your blog off and on looks like your still keeping yourself real busy.And you allso missed out on the last 5 days of -38 to -40.Looks like your having a great time with lotsa travelling about .Thats so awsome im proud of you to see you have followed thru with your Dreams Your Buddy Dano
9th January 2009

Buenos Dias Dano!
Hi...txs for the note! Yes, I have been quite busy, and way behind in my blogs! Plus the problem is that I cannot upload pics at times. Oh well! I am in Granada now...you would love this place! So kewl, and now taking spanish lessons. LY!
9th January 2009

Chilly Alberta
Hola! I have heard from everyone how old and miserable it is. Sure glad I picked this winter to be away, although at times it is so hot here, but I try not to complain too much about it. Now in Granada, and am loving it!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb