Zipping through Honduras


Advertisement
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My initial plan was to take the boat from Placencia to Puerto Cortes (Honduras) which leaves on Fridays, and then take the bus to San Pedro Sula. However, I had a nightmare about the boat trip the week prior to leaving so decided to take a plane instead. How strange the way things work out, but so right at the same time!

I got to the Placencia Airport to take my 8 30 am flight after taking my first pics of the Placencia sunrise on the day that I was leaving. Now that is sad!!! The airport is quite small, and I am told not to go far as the plane is coming from Belize City to pick me up. Hmmm....now where would I disappear to, as there isn´t a building in site, except for Tropic Air building which looks more like a trailer than anything.

Not long after I meet a young woman from Switzerland who tells me that she was supposed to take the Honduras boat that I had planned on taking, but it left on Tuesday!!! (today is Friday!!) So now she has to get to Punta Gorda to take the boat to Honduras. I suggest she change her ticket and fly to San Pedro Sula and then take the bus to La Ceiba which is her destination. Fifteen minutes before the flight leaves, Sena decides to try to change her ticket, and before we know it, we are on the 10 or 12 seater plane and off to make our connecting flight out of Independence and then onward to Honduras. I get thru immigration quite smoothly, but they end up rifling thru Sena´s backpack. Now as we wait for our connecting small plane, the Belizean official tells us that we have to wait for a passenger to be flown back here, as she forgot to get off the plane with us in Independence, and ended up in Punta Gorda. Sena and I have a good chuckle about that one while we are stuck in this holding room (without a bathroom I might add). Now keep in mind we have all been wanded and in a secure spot. However, it is no problem for us to go out of the secure area, and to the bathroom and then walk right back in (unwanded). Again, Sena and I have a chuckle about this!

After this delay it was smooth flying to San Pedro Sula, Honduras, grabbed a cab (Sena is a master at bargaining for a deal, and knows 5 languages) and off to a hotel room that we found in our tour guides (we both have the same one) and luckily they had a room available. On the way to the hotel both Sena and I were like little girls with huge eyes watching the Burger King, McDonalds, Pizza Hut, etc. signs fly by us! Sena has been travelling since September and hasn´t had much of anything except eggs, beans and tortillas, plus I have been experiencing a McD´s craving for a bit. So off we set to downtown, wolfed down a Big Mac meal each, and set off to the Cathedral and Santa Claus stand in Central Park. There are a lot of guns in San Pedro Sula, and people get wanded going into banks and drug stores. Not to mention the security guard in Mcdonalds had a club and a gun. How Bizarre!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

View from the courtyardView from the courtyard
View from the courtyard

What a busy place for the eyes!
Family out for a strollFamily out for a stroll
Family out for a stroll

Notice the gun he is packing....sheeshhhh!!!
This makes no sense to me!This makes no sense to me!
This makes no sense to me!

Gift shop in Honduras
I guess I missed Santa!I guess I missed Santa!
I guess I missed Santa!

Sena and I couldn´t resist sitting in Santa´s chair....the locals thought we were quite amusing!
Sena and ISena and I
Sena and I

We both ended up buying the same kind of cookies when we were apart. (insert Twilight Zone music here...)


Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb