Xunantunich!


Advertisement
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My prior plan to hire a taxi to take me to Xunantunich fell by the wayside as Erminia's (waitress at Uguanda) finance offered to be my guide. Elton thought it quite silly that I was prepared to pay $30US, even though that is the going rate.

Elton & I had an early start (7:30 am), took the local bus and then the hand cranked ferry across the river. An uphill and extremely humid 1 mile walk got us to Xunantunich. Small by comparison to Tikal, but fabulous in its own right. Since we got there so early, we had Xunan all to ourselves!!!

It doesn't take long to explore the site, and El Castillo is the tallest. Once I had filled my eyes of the scenery, I asked Elton to walk down first so that he could take pics of me (the little speck on the top in my pics) atop El Castillo. The mist was still in the air and I totally enjoyed watching the site as the fog lifted.

I was somewhat taken aback when I first spotted 3 men, in fatigues, carrying rifles down below, watching me, watching them. My apprehension quickly diminished when I realized they were there to protect me. My guide yesterday at Tikal had explained that Tikal is also patrolled by the police and you may spot them high up in the trees - like snipers).

Nothing has happened at the site for years but they still patrol as Xunan is so close to the Guatamelan border. I found this out from the military/police that by this time were perchd on an unexcavated ruin (which of course I had to climb). I had a very interesting conversation with them, and such gentlemen they were! It was a shame that I couldn't "Kodak" them as it is against the rules.

When Elton & I took the ferry back, 2 large luxury tourist buses pulled up, and I couldn't resist snapping a pic of their new footwear. My Nikes don't look brand new anymore....and that's a good thing!

After doing the Lamanai, Tikal, and now Xunan, I think I am "templed out" and ready to leave the Cayo District. I want to head to the beach again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Quiet street that my hotel sits onQuiet street that my hotel sits on
Quiet street that my hotel sits on

Was a nice change from Belize City


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb