BEQUIA'S CALLING


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

El MorroEl MorroEl Morro

Arriving in San Juan via the Star Princess
43 days and counting.

I've decided that 20 minutes is just too short a time to try to change planes in San Juan, PR. So, I'm going to spend the night in Old San Juan on my way down to Bequia. I visited San Juan once before, but it was only for a couple of hours one night on a cruise stop. After searching everywhere from Old San Juan to the beaches of Condado, I've decided to stay at a place called "Da House". (www.dahouse.com)
The hotel describes itself as new bohemian. It's in an historic 1600's building in the heart of Old San Juan. It's only $90 for the night including taxes and all. The only complaint I saw on the reviews was that there was alot of street noise. With that in mind, I chose an interior room that is what they describe as "away from the party". Not being a big party animal myself, I figure I could use the quite more than the party.
I'm told there is a great restaurant/bar in the hotel that is a very popular venue for Puerto Rican jazz. I'm hoping to get to here some authentic music
San JuanSan JuanSan Juan

Old San Juan at night
(just not while I'm trying to sleep). On the rooftop there's a hot tub and a fantastic view of the bay to the south and Fort San Crisobal to the east as well as the surrounding city.
I have made a committment to take at least 50 pictures every day of my trip. The beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture of Old San Juan should make it easy to click of that many pics in a day. With 2 4GB memory card that hold over 1000 pics each, I should have plenty of room for all the photos I can take.

Well, that's all for now. My next job is to find a hotel in St Vincent in case I don't make the ferry to Bequia. Check back next week for another update.

Bequia's calling
David



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

San CristobalSan Cristobal
San Cristobal

Nightime in Old San Juan


18th July 2008

St Vincent Hotel
The best little hotel in St Vincent is the Cobblestone Inn. Usually about $75 a night and 3 blocks from the ferry dock to go to Bequia. Their number is: 784/456-1937 www.thecobblestoneinn.com If you are flying to St Vincent fron San Juan you are probably on Liat. That flight arrives in St Vincent @ 5:50. During the week there are both 6:00 and 7:00 ferries to Bequia so you should not have problem. Call Ken Abraham to pick you up at the airport and take you to the Ferry Dock. Ken is at: 784-455-6238. Davo

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb