St Lucia....back into the Carribbean...


Advertisement
Saint Lucia's flag
Central America Caribbean » Saint Lucia
November 26th 2014
Published: November 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It's a small world! Few days ago I was in South Africa. Next I spent a week in Bangkok at home and two days in Saigon. No, here I am, a little further. It is truly a small world! On last Wednesday, I'm flying early to Saigon. Bump in an old friend I hadn't seen for years at the airport...he is on my flight. Up to here, it's kind of normal. On my Bangkok to Paris flight few days ago, I only met two other friends I hadn't see for a while. But on the flight to Saigon, while boarding, a young French couple ask me. Were I skiing in Queenstown back in July? Well, yes...and they recognized me....we chatted for ten minutes on a chairlift back in July this year....that's a small world!



So on Sunday night, I took a first 12 hours flight from Bangkok to Paris...the A380 from Thai...pretty nice experience. Took the bus all the way from CDG to Orly airport...it's a Monday morning...huge traffic jams...two hours drive...another example of why I'm so happy to go to Europe to visit my family and for holidays...would I move to live in Paris...no thanks...not tomorrow, not after tomorrow! Than came the 9 hours flight on Air Caraibes, this time in the back of the plane. Well, it was actually better than I expected.



Made it to Fort-de-France airport...and to my resort just on time for the aperitif! Next entry will be on Martinique. But for today, I took the catamaran for the 2 hours and half sail to St Lucia, just 50km south of Martinique...and yes, one more country visited. I love those sailing experience, even if I have figure out that I could not spend days on any of these boats if diving was not involved.



St Lucia, independent since 1979 is a member of the Common Wealth. The island is only 43km on 21km...but with a nice volcano in the south...and a pretty hilly topography. You will not see the famous Pitons. We landed in the capital Castries....the Pitons are only 27 miles south....but that's a good 90 minutes ride...sadly, not for today!



I spent my morning going around the capital. Not really what you could call a lovely little place, but I would rather call Castries a very lively place. Two huge cruise ships were in port....that's a recipe for catastrophe, but the good news is most of those passengers won't venture more than two streets out of the port terminal. So once you walk a little....it's only the locals...and their smiles!



We than took a 45 minutes ride into the country side before reaching Rodney Bay. The beach is laydown with the crowd I have no intention spending a day or a week with. Beer drinkers spending their days sunbathing...I guess the weather is better here than in Manchester...



it was soon time to ride back to Martinique. The sea became rough, I left my camera in the bag, but it was a fun ride back home. Good for us, out of 25 people, maybe just 5 or 7 ended up sick...so we still had some truly fun time.



This is the first entry of a serie of stops in the Carribbean...few more places I have never been too, and obviously, few more dives too!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



27th November 2014
No way!

Oh dear!
This hurt my eyes. Please go back to posting the beautiful Caribbean smiles!
27th November 2014
No way!

Hi Rachael!
I was wondering not if...but who would be posting the first comment on that picture. The local smiles are indeed way nicer!
27th November 2014

????
What, no diving? What's the story?
27th November 2014

I know!
But St Lucia is not actually that much know for the diving...I regret more the fact that I didn't see the volcano and the pitons. But diving did happen the last 4 days....average one...but still better than no diving...

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.1004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb