Martinique...it's back to Club Med time....


Advertisement
Martinique's flag
Central America Caribbean » Martinique
November 28th 2014
Published: November 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

For me these days, 20 years ago feels like yesterday. And 20 years ago, not only was I at University....but I had another side job, I used to work for Club Med. These years were pretty interesting...combining a degree in economics, plus another one in philosophy. To top it up, I did give few years as a student leader, and even went into politics at European level.

Than one day, I got the chance to work for Club Med as a golf teacher. I spent 9 months out of my last two years at University being paid to travel...being paid to party...being paid to communicate...and yes, at the same time I got my degree with honours...these years were amazing and will always stay with me! They made the man I am today...They also allow me enough to realize my dream, and move to Asia. 18 years later, I'm still living in Asia...due thankfully to those months spent at Club Med.



Club med has changed a lot over the last 20 years...the society has changed a lot...and asked those who know me well, it seems I didn't change that much. So from time to time, I like to come back to those years spent partying...and partying while working! The kids love Club med when it comes to skiing...and the Club Med in the maldives, is a pretty fun place to party. Beside this, a lot of the fun has been lost over the last 20 years. We had fun back than...and we had a passion that allowed us not to sleep too much...and to share amazing moment with our guests...who were not our guests....but friends after few days...and weeks on weeks, it was the same.



I always wanted to try the resort of the Boucaniers in Martinique. No golf here, so no chance for a job there. And Martinique being French, youd' better have a french passprt...that I don't have. I did try to visit 16 years aog....but for funny reasons, it didn't happen. So this time this is it. I'm 4 nights in the resort of "Les Boucaniers"! The resort have been upgraded few years ago...I get a nice suite...not really what I used to stay in 20 years ago....and the food is pretty nice. The place is actually beautiful...but where is the soul? Four days, and I couldn't find it...the guests are not part of the family anymore...they tend to be older...and not very fresh on the social side. The GOs...what I was 20 years ago....well, I may get older....but these guys have lost a lot of the passsion we had! And trust me, I'm not the only one saying it. we were badly paid to party 7 days a week ...they are paid to work 6 days a week! Big change!



So I spent time doing thing I never did in Club med...I spend few days doing nothing...and somtime doing nothing simply feel good!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



1st December 2014

Martinique
Pierre - really impressive underwater photography.
1st December 2014

Nice reminiscences...
lovely place, but no people in your pictures...except one diver...so you got to dive...that's not doing nothing!
2nd December 2014

Indeed...
When there are no great encounters...there are no great pictures....but trust me, the next few days will encounter many amazing moments, and some pictures of great people to be remembered...
7th December 2014
Few eels around...

Club Med
20 years fly by and it is good to go back and take a look around. Enjoy the journey.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb