Bleghk


Advertisement
Published: November 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, I got my electricity and I also got a few new lightbulbs to replace some that were out yesterday. I also found out that my new species of salamander might not be a new species after all :/ Oh well, I can still swab for Chytrid. While that seems like it should be the most exciting, albeit sad part of yesterday, it absolutely was not.

After walking down to town to get a delicious, large, fresas con crema, I decided to make myself rice and beans because, ya know, I'm in Central America- that's what they eat here. Fortunately, I learned during my senior year of college that there is rice that is not "instant rice". I honestly thought all rice was that easy to cook! So here I was, with my real, non-instant rice cooking wonderfully. While I had learned how to cook real rice, I never had gotten around to cooking beans that weren't from a can. I figured I could just toss dry beans into the pot and cook them along with the rice. Unfortunately, I had no idea how long beans took to cook, so I ended up with mushy-oatmeal-like rice and slightly crunchy beans. It was gross, but I added a lot of salt and butter and ate it anyway.

Bad decison.

After a very uncomfortable night of waking up every hour or so to puke, I just looked up what eating undercooked red kidney beans can do to you.

"The red kidney bean has the highest concentration of this lectin compound. Raw kidney beans have 20,000 to 70,000 toxin units, while fully cooked beans have only 200-400 toxin units. Undercooked beans may have up to 5 times the toxicity of raw beans."

"Symptoms start within one to three hours of consumption of raw or undercooked kidney beans. The symptoms are extreme nausea follewed by severe vomiting followed within one to a few hours with diarrhea and for some people, abdominal pain. Recovery is usally within three to four hours after the symptoms start"

(http://www.hpj.com/archives/2004/nov04/nov15/Eatingrawundercookeddrybean.cfm)

I'm a scientist, I have to cite my sources. I had to stop myself from putting the citation into APA format at the end of my blg. o.O

Fortunately, I'm fine today, but I hung out at my house till four to make sure that I wasn't actually sick or anything. Oh what fun times I'll have in Panama😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb