Day 10, I think.


Advertisement
Published: November 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I think yesterday was day 10 of my adventure.

I forgot to say that I met two American tourists and another american couple that relocated to Panama the day before. It was nice to be able to speak to a stranger in English. In general, if there's a stranger here, I can't talk to them.

The only exciting part of yesterday was my totally fail attempt at making a grilled cheese sandwich. You see, I share a kitchen with bunch of other people, and when they cook on the stove, they just leave whatever they made in the dish and put a lid over it. Of course, the only frying pan had someones food in it, but I had my mind set on grilled cheese. I was not leaving that kitchen until I had a belly full of it, so I grabbed a regular old pot that you cook noodles in and proceeded to make a grilled cheese sandwich in it. I'm not sure why, but even when you butter the bread, it has a tendency to stick to the bottom of those pots. I ended up with a very soggy grilled cheese sandwhich and had to scrub the bottom of the pot for a while, but oh well. It still tasted good, but not nearly as good as Grammy's grilled cheese. 😉

Other than that, Thomas said that the electrician promised that he would be there yesterday and he wasn't.

*spoiler alert!* The electrician came today and I now have a house in working condition again!

Advertisement



2nd November 2012

Grilled Cheese
Emmy, it's funny that I was wondering if you had the facilities to make grilled cheese and access to chicken noodle soup. Maybe you need to purchase your own personal teflon skillet. I'm sure you will soon get acclimated to the area and get into a regular routine. We enjoy reading your blogs and knowing what you are doing. We haven't been doing anything exciting. We did help some people during the storm who lost their electricity and needed a cooked meal. Pappy and I worked in the yard yesterday and cleaned up all the leaves. Most of then have fallen from the trees. If we get more wind, we may have to do them again. We went to Red Lobster for supper this evening. We met Jim and Ginny there. Today is Jim's birthday. We're settled in for the evening. We love you Emmy. Stay safe, and we'll be in touch again soon. Grammy xoxoxoxox (and Pappy, too) :) :)
3rd November 2012

yummy food
Yep, I can get campbell's chicken noodle and everything (hold the chicken nuggets ;) ) Glad you guys are doing well! hope you enjoyed red lobster:) love you too!
3rd November 2012

Yea!!!!! You have electricity as it should be.
That puts my mind at ease. And you can still look forward to a good grilled cheese sandwich. Your Grandpa went to Long Island yesterday to get a lease return car. That means two drivers because they bring back both cars. I said in the morning I thought it was risky, but he said it was the north Long Island so things should be OK. They actually came back without the car; left it parked on the side of the street in NJ. They couldn't get gas. They drove into PA planning to buy a gas can, fill it, and take it back to the car in NJ then drive both cars home. No gas cans or gas siphoning equipment available. Signs were on the doors of stores such as Home Depot. Gpa said they tried about 8 places. So this morning they went back to NJ to get the car with a 5-gal. can of gas. They were happy to find the car still there with all its parts. It could get really nasty in NY and NJ this weekend. There are very long lines of cars and people with cans waiting for hours to get gas. There are still many people without food, water, electricity, and heat. Of course, there are people who have lost everything. It is really sad. And election day is almost here! I am glad we got caller ID. We had 5 political calls today. There will probably be more then every day until the election. Having your electricity working properly means things will start to settle down for you. Your language situation is probably improved more than you realize since day 1. I think of you often. I love you and I pray for you. Grandma
3rd November 2012

whew!
Glad everything went well for grandpa! The next time I'm at the bigger grocery store maybe I'll buy myself a pan or something. Love you too!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb