Mas arañas.


Advertisement
Published: November 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I had a couple of things planned for today's blog. I thought maybe I'd talk about how the word "Indian" means something different everywhere in te world, or maybe I'd talk about how it's crazy that it's gotten to the point that if a spider's the size of a quarter or smaller I just let it go, but now, I am unable to talk or think about anything other than the giant spider on my ceiling. I killed a spider just slightly smaller than the one I took a picture of the other day, only a few feet from where that one was. Then, I just had to look around, didn't I? There, on my ceiling, is the biggest spider (barring a tarantula) that I've ever seen. I think it was a tannish color and it's just sitting there, like it's waiting for me to go to sleep so it can eat me. Logically, I can think through it and say "ok, I've never had a spider try to get closer to me. If I go after a spider, they don't attack, they run." Illogically, though, I think "as soon as I fall asleep, it's going to crawl on my face." I'm not even afraid of being bitten, I just don't want the dang thing on me. I mean, I'm sleeping in my sweatshirt and socks, just so that less body parts are exposed. I seriously considered setting up my hammock because it has a bug net or even just sleeping in it on my bed. I apparently have serious arachnophobia.

Other than that, not a whole lot happened. I made myself dippy eggs for supper. Now that I've learned how to use the oven, I've actually been cooking instead of microwaving everything. I also got the permit papers from Andres. I need to fill those out so it's actually legal for me to collect things.

PS- when I woke up this morning, the spider was still in the same place. Then I got a shower, came back into my room, and it was gone!!!!

Advertisement



2nd November 2012

Spiders
Oh, Emily! I don't think anyone cares for spiders. When they are gone, I wonder where they go. I say go for the bug net. Hmmmm. Nothing about language in this blog. Do you get any news from here? NY and NJ really got walloped by Hurricane Sandy. Getting gas is a problem. People are waiting in line 3 to 4 hours to get gas in NY. There is no gas in NJ. So guess what. Grandpa and another man went to Long Island for cars today. They found gas in NJ but weren't allowed to buy any. Grandpa said it was for friends and relatives of the owner. So they left one of their cars sit in NJ, went into PA, got a gas can at a Home Depot, filled it with gas, and went back to the car they left in NJ. It was about 6 when Grandpa called me. He said they will probably get home about midnight. We are so thankful we were spared the wrath of Sandy. We got more prepared for a power outage than we ever did before. That's OK. I'm so thankful to have heat, running water, hot water, and a kitchen I can use. We love to get your blogs. They are very interesting. Happy November! We'll see you soon. I love you, Grandma Linn
2nd November 2012

:)
Love you too, Grandma! Sounds like Grandpa had a fun adventure! The language is still difficult, and I don't feel like I'm getting any better, but I'm sure I'll get there eventually!
2nd November 2012

:)
Love you too, Grandma! Sounds like Grandpa had a fun adventure! The language is still difficult, and I don't feel like I'm getting any better, but I'm sure I'll get there eventually!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb