Me Tarzan..........


Advertisement
Published: June 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Is it a bird?!Is it a bird?!Is it a bird?!

Wheeeeee! 410 meters / Quarter of a mile
K - In 2010 US AARP magazine again named Boquete, Panama the third best place in the World for Americans to retire to so as we are currently "retired" we decided to stop off here. We were a little concerned that following AARP's articles the town would be a sort of Stepford Wives for Pensioners with golf carts whizzing around the streets but it is in fact a very pleasant, still Panamanian mountain town surrounded by lush green coffee plantations. Albeit with a lot of realty offices (estate agents for our UK readers).

Yesterday we toured one such coffee plantation with Rich, a retiree from Berkeley, CA. We spent over 3 hours at his beautiful property up in the cloud wreathed hills as he talked us through the coffee industry in general, his own property and his organic brand "Luna Coffee" (he only sells it on site). We roasted our own beans and of course tasted several cups of the product (wheee - way more than I am normally allowed!) but for me it was meeting someone who has basically found his niche and is loving every minute of his "retirement" which made the afternoon.

Today we had a
Mark in the palm of my handMark in the palm of my handMark in the palm of my hand

Just where I like him!
great time emulating Tarzan and Jane (or perhaps Cheetah) - whizzing through the cloud forest on a zipline! The initial 2 zips were pretty adrenaline inducing (we had the shakes - but that may have been caffeine withdrawal) but after that we relaxed and had a great time.

However, about 4 hours ago it started raining torrentially, I received a couple of emails throwing spanners in the works re: future plans in Tibet and India .... and after a bad nights sleep last night.... suddenly traveling was a little too much. Which is when my lovely husband stepped in, took charge and organized our next nights accommodation in Boca del Torro (at above our agreed budget rates!). Me Tarzan.....you Jane stuff indeed. And I loved it. Thanks mate x

PS: Soap box alert - Whilst with Rich we also discussed the merits of Fair Trade. Whilst my UK friends can buy numerous products under the Fairtrade badge (and my Mum actually lives in a Fairtrade village) the average US Safeway contains about 1 bag of Fairtrade coffee. And when I asked my employer to purchase Fair Trade beans they asked me what that was! I have promised Mark
Grande no fat no foam latte pleaseGrande no fat no foam latte pleaseGrande no fat no foam latte please

Where it all comes from
not to get on my soapbox and alienate our wonderful readers but when you see the living conditions of the average coffee picker (no windows, running water or electricity) and hear how much they earn it would make you choke on your $4 latte. So - lecture over. Buy Fair Trade!

PPS: I should emphasize that Rich built a brand new house with color TV and internet for his employee and family.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Rich's coffee plantationRich's coffee plantation
Rich's coffee plantation

Where it all comes from


21st June 2011

Fair Trade it is
You guys look great AND having such an adventure. Zipline - first of many outrageous things you guys are doing - I will live through your experiences. Enjoy!

Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 64; dbt: 0.122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1.2mb