San Juan del Sur Part II


Advertisement
Published: December 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

No tourists, low prices and pristine beaches...it doesn´t get much better than this.

My bunkmates are three guys...couldn´t tell you who they are or where they´re from. We don´t see each other but passing in the streets and then it´s a nod and a quick "hello, did you hear me snoring?" "No, but the guy in the far bunk was talking in his sleep!" (insert laughter) My bed was $6 so I don´t mind bunking with surfing strangers.

Last night I read more of Ronen´s book while lying in a hammock listening to a group of guys playing the guitar and singing Spanish songs. I find it hard to put the book down. It´s called The Zahir, written by Paulo Coelho, a talented writer of whom I´m now a fan. The story is incredible, one man´s search for meaning and happiness when faced with obsessive love. I didn´t know men actually experienced obsessive love so it´s enlightening as well.

LORRAINA
While walking down the short street of the small town called San Juan del Sur I heard a very loud and throaty "Hola!" I was startled...usually the people are more subdued. I looked around and not seeing anyone, continued walking. A second later I heard a definite cat call whistle and looked again. I thought it was a bit nervy of someone to be whistling at a perfect stranger, until I saw her...Lorraina, a very large and beautiful green parrot with multi-colored tail feathers who apparently prefers women. I walked over to her and she got so excited she hung upside down on her perch and started shrieking "hola! hola! hola!" and at the same time she began a loud purring noise. I talked to her and mimicked her for a few minutes before I noticed the strange looks the locals were giving me. Apparently they don´t talk to the birds down here.

SPEAKING OF BIRDS
I got shat on... in Granada. Apparently it´s a sign of good luck. I didn´t notice it, actually, because it was over my left shoulder and so I just kept walking, wondering why I was getting such strange looks; it´s not like I was actually TALKING to the birds. Hours later, after having a few beers with the group at The Bearded Monkey I changed for bed and found it. The next day I asked them why they didn´t tell me I was walking around with bird pooh on me and they just laughed....apparently they didn´t notice. Yeah, right!

BLACKOUTS
Every now and then for no apparent reason at all the electricity goes off. The locals don´t know why. Last night the entire city was dark for over two hours.

SALARIES
Yesterday I heard the president of Nicaragua makes over $30,000 USD per month. Daniel Ortega, who coincidentally was also President of Nicaragua for a few years in the mid to late 1980s, was just reelected and the country is very happy and celebrating. I just can't believe his salary would be so high; it seems unlikely the president of one of the poorest countries in the world would have a salary so high, but I might have to research this when I return home to find out more. At any rate, the Sandinistas are now back in power and are encouraging Americans to, once again, invest in Nicaraguan real estate...those who fail to remember history might be doomed to repeat it.

THE HARBOR
San Juan del Sur harbor is littered with fishing boats. My now-favorite-restaurant owner´s uncle fishes daily for what they serve at night. This harbor reminds me of Avalon Bay on Catalina Island. They are almost twin harbors in the layout of the land and surrounding bluffs.

WRITING
Words are not coming easily...maybe I´m on the wrong story. Khalilah poured out of me. Trucker I´m having to drag out. Maybe it´s a sign.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb