Nicaragua Costa Rica Border Crossing


Advertisement
Nicaragua's flag
Central America Caribbean » Nicaragua
December 16th 2006
Published: December 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I guess it would be wise to look at a map before I undertake some of my adventures. What began just after ten in the morning yesterday in San Juan del Sur ended just after nine in the evening last night in San Jose.

The crossing was a piece of cake, made even easier by a traveling companion I picked up in Rivas. Matti from Finland spoke perfect Spanish and we breezed through Nicaraguan customs. The walk across the border was longer than I expected. What I thought would be a definite line...one step in Nicaragua, the next step in Costa Rica...was actually quite a distance that´s a bit difficult to describe because there were several buildings and people all around and it wasn´t quite clear when we actually arrived in Costa Rica. The walk took several minutes and once we arrived at another building we had our passports stamped...again...and our luggage was searched before we were allowed onboard the express bus to San Jose. 84 years later...... we arrived in San Jose.

Matti and I had good conversations during the trip and I learned a great deal about some of the places I´m interested in visiting. He is a much more accomplished traveler than I have ever met before.

My friend, Alex, picked us up when we arrived and we dropped Matti off at his hotel and drove to Coronado where Alex lives with Dean, my artist friend from Portland. It was very nice to see familiar faces again.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb