Exploring Central America


Advertisement
Published: August 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, June 17, 2010
Granada
My dad was on the boat before I got there and when he was there there was a mild hurricane forming. So my dad and the people on the boat got off and stayed in a hotel. So my mom keep going on her computer to make sure that it would not wreck the boat and so she could tell him when it was safe to get back on the boat.

I started my trip by taking a bus ride to the airport and when we got there we had to wait until 7:00 at night to get on our plane to L.A. Once our plane got to L.A. we had to wait until 1:30 in the morning to board our plane to San Salvador. After two very lonhg layovers we got to San Salvador and only had to wait forty five minutes to board our plane and get to our final destination. From there my dad picked us up and took us to our hotel in Granada Nicaragua. Our hotel is really nice and it has a bunch of plants and stuff like that right outside our front door.

Granada was a target for priate attacks from 1665 to 1770. In one of the attacks Morgan made 6 twleve meter canoes because the rapids blocked normal sailing passages for ships. Morgan came up with an idea to hide the canoes in the day and battle the rapids in the night. Then they crossed the great lakes and attacked on June 1665 and caught Granada completely off guard and they stayed for 6 hours and took ammunition and sank all the boats.

Today I tried this grape thing that tasted like sour candy. They were called Mamons which cost only 5 cordoba which is the equivalent of about twenty cents. We also tried a smoothie with another local fruit and only my dad liked it.

I got a Nicaraguan hair cut and they were going to do this flip thing with my hair but my dad told them not to.

We went to breakfast and I had waffles and before we got our food they started a parade and set off firecrackers.

My mom and dad and I went on a volcano tour today and we walked alot. We saw some good views but the clouds were covering most of the views. Our tour guide told us about what plants were poisonous and what were not. He also told us about birds and monkeys.

After the volcano tour we went on a zip line. My mom did not go on it because she was scared. There were nine zip lines and seventeen platforms. On the first one I was kind of scared because I had never been on a zip line before. On one of the zip lines I went upside down with no hands. The zip lines were all really fun.
Posted by Andrew Sailing on Samantha at 10:54 AM 0 comments


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

mamonesmamones
mamones

A Nicaraguan fruit


6th September 2010

Nicaragua
I really enjoyed reading your blog, it's very well written. Lucky you to get to travel like that! Enjoy your magically year! Laura

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb