In Leon on Vacation from my Vacation


Advertisement
Published: December 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Catholic Church in LeonCatholic Church in LeonCatholic Church in Leon

This famous church is where you get your bearings in Leon. The park is nearby where you can relax in the shade.
Hi all!

I am enjoying my entire day in Leon today. There are not many travelers here but several of us sat and had coffee this morning and then I made a pancake and ate it with bananas and cream cheese. One girl here had just been to Rancho Esperanza in Jiquilillo Beach where Rich and I were in June. She said that the owner had to shut down for months because work done on the road totally flooded his Rancho and huts. (Rich will remember Stephanie and Nate and the lost dog and the mangy dog.)

After breakfast I spent a little time studying some Spanish. Boy, there is so much to remember and it is really hard to assimilate it all. That is one reason I am glad to have a few days off from classes. I am working to review and memorize tenses that are so difficult to figure out which to use. I now wish I had taken some high school spanish when my mind was young and fresh. I am reading some Spanish books (for kids taking spanish in high school) which is a little further along than I have been before. I also
HostelHostelHostel

The hostel appears to be recreated from a large typical house in Leon with a courtyard and an open air kitchen. There are about 6 rooms off the courtyard that are either private or dorm rooms.
have some books about Nicaragua to read for pleasure.

I have been walking all around Leon looking for a coffee press for my hostess and can´t seem to find anything like it anywhere. I did find a nice restaurant and had a huge meal with chicken, since we don´t eat meat at my hostess´ house. Chicken in Nica is very tasty. I don´t usually eat it at home, since it seems to have no flavor.

Ok, I´m going to try to upload some photos of the hostel and around Leon and then get back to reading and studying some this afternoon. Tomorrow, I head back to Lagartillo and to my serious study of spanish.

Hasta luego,
Dawn


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hostel KitchenHostel Kitchen
Hostel Kitchen

There is a nice kitchen here in the hostel to make your meals if you like. Rich and I met all the workers when we were here before and now six months later, they are all the same.
Me in front of the muralMe in front of the mural
Me in front of the mural

I finally figured out how to use the timer on the camera. I am wearing a tank top (without a layer or two on top) since it is so nice and warm hear. I think I may even have gotten some sun walking around this morning.
La Victoria CarLa Victoria Car
La Victoria Car

The car was parked out in front of the hostel yesterday. Victoria is one of the popular national beers available for sale. Toña is the other and Rich and both agree that we can´t taste the difference.
Lunch in LeonLunch in Leon
Lunch in Leon

Here is the huge lunch I had today. There is chicken with a sweet and spice milky sauce, maduro (sweet plantains), red beans and rice (of course), a little salad and a tortilla. To wash it down they serve a really sweet drink, all for $3.50. Fue muy rico! It was very yummy!


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb