battered and bruised


Advertisement
Published: October 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I got to bed pretty early last night - booze will do that to you. It was quite odd sleeping in a room with no windows so when the light was off it was pitch black. During the night I woke up to use the lu and I smoked my head on the shower curtain and ended up causing a big ruckus. The owner knocked on the door to make sure I was okay and the one time I do have my spanish book I had no light. I replied back to him in broken spanish I was okay. I probably ended up telling him I was shaving my bum or something ridiculous knowing how bad my spanish was.

I woke up quite early to catch the 5 am out of San Juan to Managua which only cost $3. The entire way I had to sit with my 35 lb bag on my lap and this rather large lady sat beside me and decided to fall asleep on my bag so now it is more like 50 lbs. There is always a positive spin to everything as the weight on the bag is cutting off my circulation so drifting off to sleep was easier.

Once I got to Managua bus station it was a gong show. When most people think of bus stations they think of organized buses and signs but not Nicaragua. There is so much going on with people yelling and dogs running around, vendors throwing things and buses zooming by with no fear of hitting people, it was just chaotic. I always seem to find a way to be the only gringo around maybe because I wake up so early. There I was with my big bag and travel book and what looks like the only asian person in the country stood out like a sore thumb. It took 2 seconds after I got off the bus and I was swarmed by a bunch of people - cabbies, vendors, beggers and street kids.

I some how managed to break out some spanish to ask where the bus was to connect to Leon. Of course I got 10 people shouting at me in rapid fire spanish and I can´t tell from the mayhem whether they are giving me instructions or directions to the local disco tech.

I finally caved and started walking to the nearest
Hostel ColonialHostel ColonialHostel Colonial

This place was dead. It was me and the landlady
cabbie and he made a fence with his arms to block off everyone else and I got into the cab.

After the lovely adventure I got to Leon in one piece and the only place I knew from my Hunters travel book was Hostel Colonial. This place was desserted and pricey but I was in no condition to bargain.

I got settled in and then ventured off and bam torrential rain started coming down. I was pretty hungry and wanted to press on but then got completely lost. There were no restaurants around this hostel and by now the streets are flooding. I ended up losing my flip flop from the flood water and it carried it down 2 blocks so I chased after it. By the time I got to my flip flop I was pretty lost. I wondered around more and then went into a bank for shelter and the security guy armed with his machine gun was trying to help me with some directions. He kept jerking back and forth to talk to me and his buddy behind the desk which was unerving because his machine gun kept swinging back and forth. I was hoping he had his safety on or else there would be a splatter of Canadian dim sum against the wall.

I was pretty defeated when I got back to my hostel and thought to myelf Leon wasn´t for me. But then I got this email from Thomas and he told me where he was staying so this time I cabbed it there.
It was like getting off in a completely different part of town. As soon as I stepped off I was at Via Via hostel and it was so happening. It was a very big hostel and people were chilling reading books on sofas and girls were braiding each others hair and guys playing pool. Damn you Hunters travel guide..you suck ass.

Tomorrow I am going to wait until my travel book drys out and then I am going to torch it. This book is not very backpackers friendly and just plained sucked.

I was so happy I found this cool part of town to chill at.

Zenning out - sometimes shiet happens when you travel. There are ups and downs and when it hits in series you can feel pretty defeated. But you just keep going even if it seems pointless to go any further. There were times in my travel it got so difficult I had to do a gut check and tell myself that $1 beer is just around the corner. Battered and bruised I ended up finding a piece of heaven in Leon. The churches are beautiful here and I am hoping the rain will let up so I can take some pictures. I am a happer camper once again and will stay here for a few nights.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb