What Day Is It?


Advertisement
Published: February 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wendy "What day is it?"
Debbie "I think it´s Wednesday."
Wendy "It feels like Friday."
Debbie "It can´t be Friday because I´m sure yesterday was Tuesday."
Wendy "Yesterday couldn´t have been Tuesday. I´m sure we´re closer to the weekend than that."
Debbie "We can´t be that close to the weekend because we still have two more nights here and that left two nights before I was leaving back to Managua."

"What day is it?" we ask in unison, to the group in the room.
"It´s Thursday." they answer.
"I´m glad it´s not Friday," I said.
"So am I." said Wendy.

An actual conversation I had yesterday with my new friend Wendy from Wales, yet a classic example of how one loses track of time in a place such as Laguna de Apoyo. This place is spectacular. We met at The Bearded Monkey and traveled together to The Monkey Hut, one of the best places I´ve visited. The Monkey Hut has been worth every penny of the outrageously overpriced $10/night I spent! Am kidding, of course. Wendy has been a treasure to know and we will be friends forever.

LAGUNA DE APOYO
For the past few days I have been swimming in the crater of an active volcano. There are wonderful stories and legends about the crater lake the locals like to tell and I have heard two absolutely fascinating stories about beliefs the local fisherman have about the lake. They believe it is a living thing, since tremors are continually felt once or twice a year. They believe a large serpent lives in the lake (many claim to have seen it) and when the serpent feels the fisherman have over-fished the lake, it gets angry and begins snagging the lines and refusing to let go. The fisherman believe this is a warning by the serpent to take a few weeks break from fishing and leave the fish alone. They always obey the serpent.

The locals also believe there is a hidden city at the bottom of the lake in which only women live. I do not fully comprehend this story so will try to get more details before I leave. What I have been told so far is when people drown in the lake (the most recent was a young woman on New Year´s Day) their souls go to the bottom of the lake where they live
Laguna de ApoyoLaguna de ApoyoLaguna de Apoyo

The Jewel of Nicaragua
in the city for eternity. The details are a little rough and I can´t imagine what could have prompted such an outrageous legend.

In reality, the crater lake was formed 21,000 years ago when the volcano last erupted. It imploded and over the course of thousands of years has filled with water. It has been measured to be about 600 feet deep. The bottom is lava rock with a rich source of minerals that continually seep into the water. The water is slightly salty, very soft, warm and brilliantly blue. Last night the moon was full and bright and rose over the lake spreading an irridescent glow that glistened on the water like crystals. Wendy and I sat on the edge of the dock watching the bats in the moonlight swooping and diving for their evening meals. They are doing their jobs brilliantly. I have only seen one mosquito in three days.

THE MONKEY HUT
This hostel is so incredibly idylic I am staying for three nights. It is peaceful and calm with gentle breezes that blow toward us from off the lake. In Nicaragua, Apoyo means "To Cure." The minerals from the water in the crater are believed to have healing properties and I am inclined to believe it. During my short stay in this bit of paradise my writer´s block has been lifted. Being alone with ones thoughts in such a tranquil, tropical environment can work miracles in ones spirit, not to mention the body! I am now a sunbleached blonde size 6 with a suntanned soul.

MANGO AND LA FLOR
Two very large and friendly dogs who live at The Monkey Hut and buddy up with any of the guests who are willing to give them love and attention and an occasional scratch behind the ears. They were my constant companions in the early morning hours when everyone else was asleep. We watched the light rise on the lake together. I have pictures of them and will put them on when I return to the states.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

A Morning StrollA Morning Stroll
A Morning Stroll

I passed this group every morning on my walk up the road.


3rd February 2007

Hmmm
I'm glad to hear you are having a good time... I think you should change your screen name to one girl in a few select places in South America... Just kidding... I hope you have a safe trip.. I it is entertaining to hear about all the people you are meeting and I just wish I could be there because I know we would have a blast (and I wouldn't be nearly as pale!!!) Miss you - I should be coming home around the 24th and staying till the 4th or 5th of March.... when you get in call me so we can talk about availablity flying out of Indy and into Cincinnati Have a safe trip MA

Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb