20 spliffs a day


Advertisement
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody

JAMAICA NICE!!!!!!

I'm really loving my time here. I came to Jamaica last minute with my friend Emily to meet her boyfriend and his family. I arrived Dec. 29th. I was supposed to leave Jan. 24th and again I was supposed to leave Mar. 6th, and I'm still here. The next departure date is the end of this month and I will be on that plane, I promise mom and dad.

So I am staying with a very big family in the Blue Mountains of Jamaica. It is only 24 miles to Kingston but about an hour and a half drive up winding roads to the top of the mountains to an area called Section, this is where I am staying. The family is so wonderful, kind and nice. Very welcoming, they are probally thinking to much so as I haven't left yet.

The family specializes in coffee farming, and have been doing so for 3 generations. Hand picked, processed and roasted, so nice. People work REALLY hard here in Jamaica, like no one has just one job or special talent, everyone has many skills. People work hard and don't get very much money, much like life in the mountains if Peru.

So for the first month I was here, Emily was as well and we spent a lot of time on tour, reggae concerts and beaching it. The big concert we went to was Rebel Salute, all night and into the next day, over 20 artists, nonstop music, no advertising and relaxed, man, there was no shoving to get anywhere, you want to go backstage, easy............

Since then, there's been a few other concerts Follow the Arrow, which featured Buju Banton, Capelton, Sizzla, Ninjaman and others, HIGH energy music - WOW.

So I've spent a lot of time just hanging out, everday life things like cooking and cleaning and handwashing my clothes which has been a real trip, i can't get them as clean as everybody else, but am still learning.

I really love this family, the kids are so much fun, there is lots of them!! So lots of love and hugs to everyone, I will send more pictures and stories when I get back to Canada in a few weeks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Emily and HopetonEmily and Hopeton
Emily and Hopeton

this is at rebel salute the next day
Luan and HopetonLuan and Hopeton
Luan and Hopeton

at Follow the Arrow
looking out the front doorlooking out the front door
looking out the front door

some of the brothers
the kids at cascade schoolthe kids at cascade school
the kids at cascade school

marva teaches this class


13th March 2007

Thanks for sharing.
What a great family. Beautiful children and glorious smiles. Are those their uniforms? They are vibrant and refreshing. Holy moly, is that the trail the children walk to school on? In dresses no less. You had an affinity to Peruvian children so I can see how you would bond accordingly to these delightful youngsters. You look in your element holding Fretdem. With love Ang. xoxo
31st March 2007

another point of view
I have heard so much about the Parnell extended family and seen some photos too, from Emily so how nice to read and see more, from your perspective. When I think about it, you've spent longer there than Em has at this point-how strange. So, back to the real world now? Do you have some time to spend with family before heading back up to the Yukon? I will enjoy reading more about your adventures. What a brave group you Russell women are!!! I'm very impressed with you all. Hugs, di

Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb