copan copan


Advertisement
Published: February 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was still raining this morning when I awoke. I went with my instructor to the ruin museum and read the signs in Spanish out loud. The museum contained many Mayan artifacts. Sculpture and objects with hieroglyphs were everywhere. I was particularly interested in the Mayan calendar and the dates thereupon. The artwork was astounding too with such detail and imagination. The head dresses that they adorned were incredible and amazing. There were human bone artifacts as well. There pottery I think was just as good in many cases as that of the Greeks but sometimes tend to be a little less perfected in balanced shape. A lot of the descriptive signs were in Spanish and there was no English translation. I still have not visited the biggest ruins. I don’t know why but I just find myself wandering around town and I am going to attend them first thing next week, perhaps when I get back from Antigua. Last night I met another guy named Carlos. This Carlos owns a Finca here near Copan and is a horseback guide. He was a total cowboy and he was very nice. We hung out and chatted about Copan for a long time into the night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb