On the Road... First Night of Vacation in Ceiba


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Northern » La Ceiba
September 12th 2006
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Our House For the Big Trip!Leaving Our House For the Big Trip!Leaving Our House For the Big Trip!

Jenna, Nadia, Julie, Jill, Chris, and I
So after the parade, Jenna and I got out money from the bank then taxied it home to finish packing. Soon after, the 6 of us (Jenna, Julie, Nadia, Jill, Chris, and I) were on our way to the bus station. It's amazing how competitive buses are. We were heading to one bus station and had guys from a smaller van-type bus telling us an earlier time of departure. Both were trying to get our attention and take our bags. We decided on the "Rapidito" van which left earlier.

This van took us and a few other locals to Siguatapeque, which was about 45 minutes away. It was a nice drive through mountains and the Canadian Red Cross painted top ten ways to prevent H.I.V. on the sides on the mountains, so Chris, Jenna, and I played the game of me trying to guess what the Spanish said and them telling me if I was right.

Once in Siguatapeque, we were at a buffet-tupe restaurant waiting for our bus. We got lunch (Jenna and I got ice cream... haha) and waited. Amazing how much you can keep yourself entertained when you are waiting. Trying to throw stones through the
Big SunglassesBig SunglassesBig Sunglasses

Jenna and I posing with HUGE sunglasses at the buffet restaurant in Siguatapeque while we waited for the bus to La Ceiba.
slots of a metal fence is very entertaining.

The bus ride wasn't too bad. I had a spot next to a window, which meant a nice breeze at least. I spent the majority of the bus ride listening to my iPod and looking out the window. I loved seeing the children outside playing along the way. There were a bunch of kids with no shoes on playing soccer, and at almost every stream/lake/body of water that we passed, there were children swimming in them. It made me smile.

We stopped once in Tela for a pee break and then kept on going. It was a really long bus ride. I was really happy once we arrived in La Ceiba. Once there, Chris got mad about the many people bugging us for where we were going, if we wanted a taxi, or a bus, etc. It was quite ridiculous how much they hound you. I can see why Chris hates it so much. We went into the bus station to reserve spots on the bus for the trip home on Sunday. After Julie sweet-talked them into letting us do that, we head directly across the street to a hotel
Chilling OutChilling OutChilling Out

Waiting for the bus in Siguatapeque.
that Nadia had stayed in before. It was pretty nice. After a room change due to the crapiness of the first room, we were all settled. Jenna, Julie, and Jill shared one room. Chris, Nadia, and I shared another.

We ordered pizza, went to the gas station to pick up drinks (see pic of pre-mixed rum and coke) and then ate our pizza by the pool. It was such a nice feeling after such a long day of travelling. After we were told the pool was closing (10pm), we head to our rooms, watched a little bit of TV and went to bed; dreaming of the beautiful days to come on the Island!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Our BusOur Bus
Our Bus

Nadia beside the bus we rode on for 6 hours... I think it was 6 hours???
Rum and CokeRum and Coke
Rum and Coke

Here's a pic Jill took of the pre-mixed rum and cokes in a can. I drank one with my dinner. It was a little strong for my liking but not bad
Pizza With PlasticPizza With Plastic
Pizza With Plastic

This was our pizza... delivered with plastic on it???
Pizza By The PoolPizza By The Pool
Pizza By The Pool

Julie and Jill
Late Night SwimLate Night Swim
Late Night Swim

Chris and I being silly in the pool. SUCH a nice way to cool down after a long day with the parade and the bus.
Nadia in Our RoomNadia in Our Room
Nadia in Our Room

Watching a little TV before bed.


Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb