Feliz Navidad


Advertisement
Guatemala's flag
Central America Caribbean » Guatemala
December 25th 2014
Published: December 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today has been a much more slow day compared to our usual packed full days here at HOL. We began by having a traditional Guatemalan breakfast of tamales and hot chololate. I can't say I was a big fan of either, but I did finish everything, which is more than I can say for my 3 traveling partners who didn't even try the tamales! (We'll excuse mama for not trying them- she hasn't felt well today, and they smelled worse than they tasted. The other 2 were just plain chicken!) I'll admit that the main reason I ate them was because I heard the ladies yesterday talking about how hard they were to make, and I felt really guilty that these ladies were giving up their Christmas with their families to fix our meals, and to not even eat what they had prepared just felt wrong! There are two other groups with about 4 each that have been with us all week, and then a group of about 12 came in from Puerto Rico yesterday.

After breakfast we went back up to our room for a little bit. Oscar was our driver this morning. He usually does more of the grounds work. The drivers all had the day off, as well as Julio. All I can say is that Oscar drives fast! Chrissy and I went down and spent some time at the hospital this morning. We took treats for Maria Delmy and Yolanda. Poor Delmy's babydoll was sick- she told the nurse it needed a doctor. She had it all wrapped up in a crib sheet and from what couple of words I could pick up and from hand gestures it had a high fever. The nurse played right along, giving it pretend medicine from an empty medicine syringe, but Delmy pointed to her arm and appeared to insist the baby doll needed an IV! I loved watching the interaction. Delmy is such a happy little girl, who has very deformed legs, that are almost non-existent. She climbs and scoots around on her bottom, and just exudes joy. She is a favorite to so many who visit HOL, and we could all learn from her. And of course Herminio was keeping right up with her, full of grins and telling me all kinds of things I couldn't understand. They would both tell me the names of every kid in the room. You can tell they are talked to and loved. I spent most of my time holding and feeding a precious little girl named Dulce Milagros. She goes by Milagros, though I struggle to say it. I think she would be a perfect Christmas present for me! She's the one I said would fit in one of the Christmas Hope Sacks and be my gift. She is around two months old. She was abandoned and they do not know her exact birthday. The nurse also let me go in and take a peek at the new little one they recently rescued, Kimberly. Kimberly was around 2lbs when she was rescued, and her mom is 13 years old. She is here with the baby, taking care of her, although they also tube feeding. Dr. Laura said that another day or so and baby Kimberly would not have survived. She is so tiny! These are the situations when I really feel the language barrior. I so wish I could talk to these moms and find out what they need and see how I could help them. My heart just breaks for them. We are planning to take some things back for
the baby later this week, but I worry about the mom too.

After lunch Chrissy and I went down to get a cafe cucos, which is kind of like a frappe in a sandwich bag. They are sooo good. Then we thought we would just walk back up to our room. Did I mention UP?? And after eating lunch and a cucos? WAY UP. Yep, I must be getting old, and I know I'm out of shape! Our room is right below the orphanage, and it's quite a hike. I came back and collapsed on the bed for a while.

Later on we went up to the orphanage to take Cristina her gifts. I had brought her a doll house, some clothes, and a few other items. We put the doll house in one of the big bike bags and carried it up the back steps to the orphanage. Chrissy carried it up, but when one of the older boys, Francis, saw her, he ran right over and took it from her to help carry it the rest of the way. I think quite a few of the orphanage boys like her! All of Cristina's family gathered
around as she opened her gifts. She wanted to open her stocking first, which surprised me. She gets so excited over everything, even the toothbrush I put in- well, it was Hello Kitty. After opening the doll house she played with it the rest of the time I was there, making sure to figure it all out, opening and closing it, rearranging the furniture, etc. I got several hugs, and she was acting just downright silly. She was a typical little girl on Christmas Day. I am also so pleased with what I am seeing with her house parents. Its the little things. For example, Jose was wearing crocs and they told him he couldn't because they were going to play futbol. He went to change but came back with dressier looking black shoes, insisting those were the ones he would wear. They were firm that he would wear tennies. So he finally put on tennies shoes. I love the firm consistency I am seeing with them. It is so needed with many of these kids, and while some of the nannies are great about it, others would give in to avoid the battles, after all, it's just a job
to many of them. I am so thankful she is in a house where she will be loved and cared for, a Godly family where there will be consistency. Everytime I go, I'm told usually several times, "God bless you". We also took up small treats for the others in Cristina's family. I know it doesn't compare to a dollhouse, but we did not want them to feel completely left out.

We had planned to go to Maribel's house and take treats for them- that's where I spent all my time in the orpanage this summer and I still have a connection to those kids, and I really like and respect those nannies. Unfortunately they were still napping, so we will try again tomorrow. Instead we went back to the hospital to spend more time with the babies. Maria Delmy spent part of her time pouting because Chrissy was holding a baby instead of playing with her. I helped feed Miriam dinner, and a bottle to my sweet baby Milagros. I think Alex, Olga, and Nelson had a food fight in the hallway- when I went out there they were throwing their food at each other instead of eating
it. I decided to sneak away before I laughed at them! Daddy and I rocked babies in the hallway for a while, and Chrissy helped feed dinner to the babies on the third floor. I've think holding babies is a perfect way to spend Christmas!


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 26


Advertisement











Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb