san pedro


Advertisement

hola from san pedro. so far this is my favorite place. san pedro is the second largest village settled along lago atitlan. very tranquil... the lake is amazing!!!!! blue...surrounded by volcanoes and mountains....villagers floating by in their small boats. i left antigua on tuesday via bus. it is a 2 hour bus ride from antigua to panajachel, lago atitlan. i arrived in panajachel on tuesday evening and spent the night there before taking a bus across the lake to san pedro on wednesday morning.

i settled into a room with an amazing lakeview and a PRIVATE bathroom at hotel sak' cari. to get to the hotel you have to walk down narrow dirt "streets"...it is like a big maze...i've never seen anything like it. the days here are great...sunny, warm. the evenings bring thunder & lightning storms. at night we sit on the balcony and watch the storms move across the lake as we listen to the sounds of the toads & some other unidentified animal (they sound like sheep but we think they're frogs).

i was exploring the village on wednesday afternoon and came across a yoga studio. i knocked on the door and was greeted by a woman who is the identical twin of my dear friend erin. so of course, i immediately liked her 😊 i arranged for yoga and a massage for the following morning. it was wonderful to share a yoga practice with another person....and to follow it with a strongly needed massage. after my massage, kathryn invited me to stay for breakfast.

this morning tim & i decided to go horseback riding....but first we wanted to "look at" the horses. being that neither of us know anything about horses, we didn't know exactly what we were looking for. after a few minutes on the horses, and an awkward outburst from one of the horses, we decided that horseback riding wasn't such a good idea. so i used the nervous energy that arrived from the horse experience and practiced some yoga on a dock extending out into the lake. it was beautiful!

i just stopped in the internet cafe to contact a travel agent about getting to honduras. my plan is to start travelling toward honduras tomorrow. apparantely i will have to spend a night in san salvador before getting into honduras. my new tentative plans include: honduras for scuba certification, belize for a few days, tikal to see the ruins, coban to explore the underwater caves and then back here to san pedro to study spanish for two more weeks. i really like it here and can see myself settling for a couple weeks before heading on to peru.

well i think it's time to go swim in the lake. i haven't done it yet but i can hear the water calling my name!!!! 😊

~~~~hugs~~~~~

happy birthday grandmom!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



16th June 2006

Sounds Awesome!
The lake sounds amazing! Must have been nice to fit some yoga and relaxation time in - you certainly deserve it. I've been horseback riding a few times while in Montana. It was frightening at first, I even broke out in hives all over my legs! But boy was it an awesome experience - we climed mountains through gorgeous evergreen trees - I'll never forget it. I'm sure the horses there though were MUCH tamer then the ones you attempted to ride! :) Enjoy the rest of your time in San Pedro - I hope you are taking lots of pictures!!! xoxo
16th June 2006

Name that tune..
Last night I dreamt of San Pedro Just like I'd never gone, I knew the song A young girl with eyes like the desert It all seems like yesterday, not far away I fell in love with San Pedro Warm wind carried on the sea, he called to me Te dijo te amo I prayed that the days would last They went so fast
16th June 2006

I can think of lots of other things do with nervous energy than horsebacking riding!!
19th June 2006

Hurray!!
The lake is magnifico!!! And almost as I remember it! SEriously -- I am so glad you are having such a wonderful experience!! And I really enjoyed the pictures -- I almost didn't open this because I'd read it at work -- but the pictures didn't come through on that one!! Glad I looked at this one again!!! Keep trekkin'!!!
19th June 2006

So beautiful!! I have Miss Paige on my lap looking at your amazing pictures with me! I am hoping she will be as free spirited as her Aunt Sue!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb