i want ice cream.....


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

hola amigos. i am now in honduras. just when i was getting used to the quetzales in guatemala....i now have to adjust to the lempiras in honduras. the exchange for quetzales is approx. 7.7 to the dollar and lempiras is approx. 18 to the dollar.

yesterday i took a bus from san pedro back to antigua because antigua is the hub for getting to honduras. my bus left antigua at 4 this morning and arrived in copan, honduras at 10:30. it was cool to cross the border....the imaginary line that separates two countries. i have to wait here for a bus that will take me to la ceiba which is the town where you catch a boat to the bay islands. my bus leaves here at 2PM so i will probably arrive in la ceiba at 9PM. there is really nothing to do in this town so i am sitting in the internet cafe trying to get my pictures online...hopefully it works 😊

there is a huge temperature difference between here and the highlands (antigua, san pedro)....it is very hot and humid here. and i can´t find ice cream (helado) anywhere!!!! i imagine the heat and humidity will be even more intense in the carribean.

i will probably have to stay in la ceiba tonight since the ferry boats that take you to the bay islands only run a couple of times a day. i will catch the first one in the morning and hopefully start the diving course on monday.

i am glad that you are enjoying my blog. please keep the comments coming...it makes me smile to read them.

the next time i write, i should have something to say about the underwater world 😊 hugs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th June 2006

Beautiful
Sue, Your pictures of the lake are gorgeous, it must be awesome in person. Glad your having a good time. I start grad school in 2 weeks ...much rather be traveling!!!! Enjoy and stay safe.
18th June 2006

no ice cream what
It looks so beautiful there. you are the most free spirited person i know and a brave one at that. keep the pics coming i feel like Im with you. love ya jennie
18th June 2006

Hello!
you look like you are having so much fun!! Looking at the pictures makes me realize how much I want to travel! Doing any yoga in beautiful places? I knew a yoga teacher who would travel and have someone take a picture of her doing a yoga pose in different places all over the world- and she made an album! How about Sue in headstand in Hondouras? Maybe cobra in Nicaragua? Have fun and I look forward to updates!
19th June 2006

me again!
Well, now, Honduras sounds fascinating! How long were you at the border? Copan sounds like an "interesting" place -- lots of heat, not much cold helado!! I am guessing you've been trying it as you travel -- isn't their ice cream neat??? We will be awaiting your pictures of you in your full scuba gear!!!! Can't wait!
19th June 2006

We'd never make it with no ice cream!! Love the pictures, especially the lake (the kids like the dog!) So glad you are enjoying yourself. Can't wait to hear about the diving! I'm sure you'll see some cool stuff down there. Went to the beach this weekend, and we'll be heading down to fortescue with your gift on friday. Everyone is doing good here, and they all say hi and we love you! Love, Lin
19th June 2006

Enjoying the blogs
Sue - I haven't written but am enjoying all of the blogs. It really feels like I am right there with you, except the fact that I am sitting in an air-conditioned office and can have ice cream anytime I want:) We will have to treat you to Cold Stone Creamery when you return! Have a great time!!
19th June 2006

amazing...
Hey Sue! Thank you so much for my birthday wishes...that was AWESOME! I swear, I am an addict to your travel blog. It is like a book with pictures that I can't put down. Your photos are amazing and absolutely gorgeous. You look like you are having a great time! Keep the pics coming! Hugs!
19th June 2006

Sue It is so great to see your pictures! What an amazing (and interesting) time you must be having. Thank you for sharing! Love and Miss you! Laura
20th June 2006

hola girlie!!!
Hey... I love reading your entries... so wish I could live vicariously through you (well, I kind of am). So, we miss you at the studio. Guess what, we are installing ceiling fans in the big studio... and ripping out the carpet and installing bambo flooring... cool eh? Thought you would want to know what you have to look forward to when you return. Have a ball in Hondoras.... and look forward to reading your next entry!!! Om Om Om, Jill
20th June 2006

Quiet
I am quietly enjoying your travel journal. Quietly reflecting. Imagining. All in the privacy of my own mind.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb