hot lava


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

today was my second to last day of spanish school in antigua. i might return after travelling around a bit but for now, i am anxious to get out of this town. my spanish is coming along WELL. i am impressed with how much i've learned already. i try to speak and think in spanish as much as i can. i sometimes wake in the middle of the night with an english word in my head & i MUST know the spanish equivalent for it ASAP. so apparently my subconscious is studying even when i am sleeping.

after school i climbed volcano pacaya. it was intense. the hike up, according to everyone i talked to, is supposed to be "easy". i didn't think so. i was huffing & puffing and praying for the end of this 120 minute climb. i have not been working out for a while but i can't be that out of shape..it's only been a month or so.?!?!?! anyway, by the time i am finished climbing volcano's in central america, i will be ultra-woman.

tomorrow i am heading to lake atitlan. tim, one of my dormmates, has been travelling around central america for the past 4 months...he is travelling north...he started in panama. his trip ends in central mexico in a few months. tomorrow we are going to head to the lake together and hang out for a few days before parting ways.

my new tentative plans include: lake atitlan....then to the bay islands in honduras to get my scuba certification...then belize...then tikal, guatemala, work my way south & maybe into costa rica. my plans change by the hour, depending on weather and new information. so, i will keep you updated as things change.

i can't believe i've been here for one week already. in the moment, time moves so slowly but overall, the time is passing quickly. necisito mas tiempo! for the most part i am enjoying myself and the people i meet. of course there are some annoyances....for example: chico gringos who want to teach "lil' ol' me" how to speak "better" spanish. it is flattering and helpful but it gets to be a bit confusing and frustrating. especially since they hardly know the language themselves...most have only been studying/speaking for a month (give or take a few weeks). machismo! 😉 lol....

oh...one more thing to mention before i go. the other night we went to a place called "cafe bistro". it is a cute "movie theatre" here in antigua. it consists of four rooms, about the size of the average dining room, with 3 or four rows of couches. here, they play movies (old and new) in each room. you order food and drinks, which are served to you at your couch. we watched the big lebowski . it was even more hilarious the second time. we need one of these in philadelphia!

i hope to get some photos online soon...i haven't been taking many pics but the ones from the volcano are pretty cool.

okay...i think i've given you all enough to read. time for me to go and have some food....i'm starving!

~~~~~hugs~~~~~~~




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



13th June 2006

Hola
Climbing a volcano sounds cool, but too long of a walk! Just wanted to say hi before we leave for school. School is over tomorrow! We have 1/2 days today and tomorrow. Going to see Mom-Mom on Thursday. We'll give her a kiss from you. Miss you! Love you!! Nicky and Natalie
14th June 2006

say hi to my dad in antigua
Hi Sue, I work with your uncle (?) Jack Persia at KKCHS. I was telling him that my dad lives in Antigua and has a farm where he grows basil, tyme, sunflowers and field crops. He ships to USA and his name is Joe DeCicco and his farm is called Beacon Farms. I told him about you and he said to contact him if you need anything, or want to see the farm etc. I lived in Antigua for 4 years..... I loved it ! ( but NOT the rainy season!) How are you holding up with the rain? Gina PS I too climbed Pacaya on a new years eve to see the sun rise. We left at 3am and climbed in the dark. Thank God I was young and naive! hahaha
15th June 2006

Movies
Everything sounds ideal. The movie theatre sounds like a place just across from San Francisco - sofas, food, drinks... sounds like a good business venture...
23rd June 2006

The Adventures of Lava Girl
I am so jealous right now!!! Miss you, Bubbles

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb