Hola Tula y Francisco


Advertisement
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So after the first week of Spanish lessons we were whacked and in need of a beer or two. We really appreciated the weekend coming along and spent most of it chilling out, reading, having a beer (did I already say that?) and swimming in the one pool in San Pedro.

We’ve met a couple of people and one of them kept us up most of the night being very very ill last night. Poor guy, I’m not looking forward to the inevitable food poisoning. We’ve met a lovely lady from India who is travelling here too and she is going to give us some pointers on where to go/where to avoid in India. So lucky and very odd that we met in Guatemala.

Today, after class, we were collected by Tula, the mother of our host family. She is a tiny lady, a teacher and I’d say around 60-70 years old. She helped me, taking my small rucksack whilst Steve and I followed her. She whizzed off around the corner. Steve and I had to walk quite fast to try and keep up (we did have our luggage with us, but even so). Luckily she bumped in to her son who loaded us up in to the back of his pick up truck. Excellent! A lift.

We arrived at a stone wall with huge metal gates. Once through there stretched a long driveway with a fabulous view of the lake. The house is hidden behind a lush, well tended garden. We were told that we would be staying with a ‘middle class’ family, with our own room. We’ll be having three meals a day together.

We were shown to our room, which is basic and clean. Our bathroom, however, isn’t. I’m a bit shocked that someone with such a brilliant house in a marvellous setting could have such a dirty bathroom. Well, seeing as we’re staying for a week I might just be getting the rubber gloves and cleaning fluid out. I’m a bit scared of the cobwebs in the shower too!

Apart from that Tula has been welcoming and friendly. She teaches primary school children, so maybe she’ll be able to help me with my Spanish.

Well, I’d better get going because dinner is at seven. Steve’s just finishing his conversation activity (I’ve decided that blogging will be far better for my Spanish).

Missing you all (well most of you ;o)

Lots of love

S&S xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mini chilliesMini chillies
Mini chillies

Steve went shopping, when he came back we found this little bag of chillies someone had slipped in the bags. The chilli fairy maybe...
Undercover photosUndercover photos
Undercover photos

Steve and I went for a beer in a bar next to the dock. We started taking phtotos of the locals.
A boat arrivesA boat arrives
A boat arrives

Tuk tuks waiting for passengers.
SteveSteve
Steve

and the guard in the background with a huge gun... guarding beer in the van!


23rd March 2010

Oh no!
You finally get to live in a house with a pool and it's not finished! Life is too cruel!
24th March 2010

Brilliant writing
Your descriptions really bring the places and people alive, and the photos are splendid. I think you have the makings of an excellent travel book, as long as you survive the food poisoning and the questionable bathrooms. In some ways I wish I were with you, but then you put me in my place, back in dark and gloomy London Much Love C xxx
25th March 2010

Thanks, Cyril.
Well if you find yourself at a loose end and fancy a break we would love to meet up. Lots of love xxxx

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb