Last few days at school


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

BeetlesBeetlesBeetles

Can you see them. The camera takes pounds off them!
Ola mis familias y mis amigos,

Spanish school has been going well. Steve has excelled and some people who have been here for weeks have been openly complementing him saying that his spanish is better than theirs.

I have been getting better, I understand the theory and can now write lengthy stories in spanish, however speaking the language is coming a little slower. A break from the constant information input is needed I think, to process what I've learnt so far. Practice is the key, so Steve and I are trying to talk to each other as much as possible.

Life at our Guatemalan home is settling down. Last time, remember I described the awful bathroom? Well, when I got back from school that day Rachael, a lady from Santa Barbara, had also joined us. We were discussing the lovely grounds and house when I slipped in to the conversation my thoughts on the bathroom. Rachael, my new friend, had felt the same way and had taken her facewipes to it. I went to see and she'd made such a difference with so few tools. Rachael is a good person.

Later that evening after scorpian/spider bed check, Steve and I settled in for the night. I was a bit nervous, but with Steve by my side what could go wrong? Well... there was a wriggle under my shoulder. A BIG wriggle.. I jumped out of bed, turned the light on and saw a big fat beetle where I had been lying. The next thing I see is four or five of them crawling all over the floor. After a mild panic and a little bit of jumping up and down the washing line/mozzie net construction went up (after all blankets, sheets, pillow cases were checked). I went to sleep holding the torch ready to attack any further unwanted visitors.

The next morning Rachael described her night. She'd found three beetles in her bed!

Anyway, bugs aside, Tula is marvellous. We've been slowly getting to know her. She's an amazing lady. She used to be a primary school teacher, but now she is a delivery nurse (40 babies last year!), she's also owned a restaurant. Her husband, Francisco, also used to be a teacher but now he is in the construction business. He's built their hotel, which is in the garden, his house and is now building the bank in San Pedro. They are a hard working family and deserve everything they have.

In San Pedro, in fact everywhere we've been so far, people build their own houses from scratch. They get huge boulders that they chip away at with hammers to make the materials for concrete. They bend the steel supports themselves. It's really amazing, something I wish I could do. There is a slight drawback, however. Most things are only partially completed and the steps are often so uneven that is takes great skill not to fall over.

We were going to go to Antigua on Monday for a couple of days before meeting Michelle in Honduras next Sunday. Unfortunately we've timed our leaving San Pedro to coincide with 'semana santa' - holy week. Antigua is the centre for the festival and so it's been booked up for weeks. We've booked a micro bus to take us to Copan Ruins in Honduras instead. We have an hour in Antigua and we'll be getting the opening parties in San Pedro, so we're not totally missing out.

Lots of love

S&S

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



26th March 2010

You're too brown
I do not approve. Come home at once and be pale like the rest of us. xxx
26th March 2010

Alternatively...
you could get a spray tan ;o) xxxx
26th March 2010

Willy the Learnmur
So he'll be your entry in the best-educated non-human primate competition? J L xx
27th March 2010

Well done Steve - not just a knight in shining armour eh?!?!? Will be thinking of you both on your next leg of the journey. lots of love. xxxxx
30th March 2010

Willy the Learnmur
Excellent! At this rate, he'll be able to enter himself! x
30th March 2010

Hey anon
Not sure who you are, but thank you for your comment. xx
31st March 2010

Good work trying to speak Spanish to each other guys!! x

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb