Escuela espanol y escorpiones


Advertisement
Published: March 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We started our spanish lessons yesterday. Our classes are set on the side of the lake. Volcanos in the distance, mist rising over the water, bird song calming your thoughts... can we enjoy it. Not on your nelly. Thelma, my beautiful, 20 year old teacher is working me so hard my head feels like it might fall off. Four hours of intense learning and then she sets me at least another four hours homework. I'm bunking off to write this (shhh).

Steve has a head start and can already hold basic conversation which means that he has moved on to verbs and all sorts of language principles that I can only just remember from my English GCSE. My lessons are concentrating on expanding my vocab. The owner of our hotel patiently let me name all his clothes and state the colour of them today. Yesterday I found out that I'd been saying good morning to people during the evening. It is working!

Last night, after a truely exhausting day, Steve and I decided to treat ourselves to a meal out. We nipped upstairs to ply on the anti mozzie lotion. I went to the loo, it's always good to use a loo you know is clean before going out here. I sat down, looked up and there was a scorpion staring back at me! Honestly, of all the places and times. The fear built in to complete terror. I calmly said to Steve 'I think we've got a scorpion in the room' (btw the loo is in the bedroom). Steve, amazingly kept is cool (I think for me) and jumped to it with a cup. I ran out and bumped in to the owners son who told me not to do anything.

After a bit of time he came and the scorpion had jumped off the wall in to my bag which was padlocked to the wall. Like **** was I going to go anywhere near it. Unfortunately, I don't know the number combination, only the pattern that the tumblers make. Steve was a star going back and forth three times before getting it right.

The bag was taken outside and the owner carefully removed the scorpion and promptly squashed it.

I feel that we will both be on scorpion high alert for the rest of the trip. Poor Steve.

Anyway, I've been rambling too long, must go study (might have a beer to lubricate the old grey cells).

Muchos amor

S&S
XXXXXXXXxxxxxXXXXXXXXXX




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

San Pedro marketSan Pedro market
San Pedro market

We went to the market at around 6.30am. It was already teeming with people. A good way to get food at a real bargain.
Our new roomOur new room
Our new room

Since we're staying for 9 nights we were moved to a bigger, brighter room with a better matress!
Two windowsTwo windows
Two windows

With fantastic views. From our bed we see Valcan San Pedro.
Our cafetiere brokeOur cafetiere broke
Our cafetiere broke

So we bought a sieve and some filter papers. Much more travel friendly.
Sheryl's class room.Sheryl's class room.
Sheryl's class room.

Thelma in the background,
The spanish school's puppy.The spanish school's puppy.
The spanish school's puppy.

I was reading a Lake Atitlan newspaper and they have 'dog of the month'. It's brilliant. The dogs here roam the streets just like the people. They're all friendly, especially once you've sat down for some food!


17th March 2010

benas nochas mi amor maravilloso amanecer el mercado asqueroso escorpion Dulces sueƱos !! xxxx (Well I hope I've said what I was trying to say!!!)
18th March 2010

Ok
I'll just go grab my diccionario. xx

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb