Miss Antigua, Active Volcanoes, Biking, and Television Interviews


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi,
I have been having so much fun here. You won´t believe what I´ve done.
First, on Friday I went to one of the 4 volcanoes that surround Antigua. Three of them are active. The name of the volcano was Pacaya. We hiked about two hours and got very close to the crater and the lava flows. I was about 10 or 20 feet from flowing lava. It was really hot and amazing. It wasn´t too dangerous, Mom.

Then that night I went out and was interviewed for a Guatemalan television show about the hot spots in Antigua.
The next day I took salsa lessons and went to the Miss Antigua Beaty Pagaent. This was supposed to be an invitation only event, but nobody asked me and my friend for our invitation so we went in. It was a memorable event. We saw the swimsuit competition and the casual wear competition . We left after that. I was impressed with the event. It´s similar to pagents in the states, but it seems to fit better into this culture than at home.
I also saw a procession in the streets of people dressed in black carrying a statue of the Virgin Mary. It was really unexpected.

Today I went on a 25 Km bike ride to the surrounding towns of Antigua. We went to a macadamia nut farm and had macadamia nut pancakes that were amazing. I also bought some macadamia nut facial cream and oil, suposedly it will make me look younger. You can be the judge of that when I return. There was a marathon here too. There is so much going on here. I will try to send pictures later.

Megan, I haven´t seen much wildlife here only some scary dogs in the streets.
Well, I must go to my salsa lesson now.
Take care,
Kim

Advertisement



17th July 2006

Wow, I wish I was there
Wow kim, what did the dogs look like? Sounds like fun. tODAY i LIDIA fulk has to het braces soooooooooooo ecixited
17th July 2006

Wow, so many new experiences!
Not as laid back as Belize, eh? Sounds like you are in your element! Glad you are enjoying yourself. Thanks for keeping the updates coming.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb