I Made It


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,
I made it to Antigua safely and I am enjoying my holiday. It has been difficult to remember Spanish since it's been 13 years since I studied it, but I have been doing well. It's amazing that I remember so much.

Antigua is a National Heritage site, so it has remained like it was in the 1700's when the Spanish lived here. It has cobblestone streets and the buildings have beautiful gardens inside their walls.

Yesterday and today I got lost many times. The street signs are nonexsistent in some parts of the city. Luckily, Antigua is only 12 blocks by 12 blocks. I can't get too lost. There is a central park and two volcanoes surrounding the town. These serve as landmarks when I am lost. I plan on hiking Volcan Pacaya tomorrow.

Today I took a tour of the town. We went to several Catholic churches that were built in the 1700's. They are beautiful but damaged from numerous earthquakes. We also visited a museum with beautiful Spanish religious sculptures from the 1700's and idigenous art dating back 1000 years.

There are so many foreigners here studying Spanish or volunteering. I met two people from Britain and one from Texas today. They have all been very friendly and I haven't had much time alone. I hear many tourists speaking English at the tables in the restaurants I have been in. But I have also spoken with some Guatemalans too. THey are very friendly and helpful.

There are many internet cafes here. They cost less than $1 an hour.

I wish I could send photos, but I'm not sure how to download my photos. I will work on that.
I miss you all.
Hasta Luego,
Kim

Advertisement



14th July 2006

KIMBERLY!!! Wow...this is cool! I didn't know you were going to Guatemala! That's awesome! You are going to have a blast! Sounds like you are having fun! Talk to ya later! Amiaaaa
14th July 2006

KIMBERLY!! Wow...this is cool! I didn't know you were going to Guatemala! That's awesome! Sounds like you are having a blast! Have fun! Talk to ya later! Amiaaaaa
14th July 2006

You go girl!
Sounds so amazing. I am so jealous. Enjoy, be safe and keep in touch. Peggy
14th July 2006

:o
basketti! what kinds of animals hve you seen so far? if you do end up figuring out how to up load pictures of anything and everything, please do! Eye iz smahart!
14th July 2006

We'll always have Venice
Hi Kim - glad you are having a good time. I spent one night in your condo and I'll be back to water your plants soon. Press On!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb