One Week Left :(


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This week was a really beautiful one. We went to some pretty fun ruins. I really like going and climbing and exploring. We went to one that was a monastery, and another that had underground tombs at the Cathedral in Central Park. I am also still loving working at Refugio Jeremias. We have been able to hear some of the stories of the kids and the history of the program. The woman who started it has such an amazing vision for these kids. Another one of my favorite parts of this trip is my time with Edna and Vincent at our house. Edna sits with us every meal, and we talk about the differences between our countries, our families, and food. She is so sweet. It is also really great for practicing Spanish. Four hours a day of lessons can become very frustrating after a while. My mind gets so tired, but I still love Odillia and this school. Every Friday, we all have a big cookout which is fun. This week, there was a new student from Arizona and two from Israel. I really like hearing how we all ended up here learning Spanish in Guatemala.

This weekend, Alisa and I have also experienced some of the negative aspects of traveling. Last night, we had planned to go to Parramos for a service in the home of a woman from the church named Erma. Alisa was not feeling well all day, and she decided not to go. It was really strange going somewhere without her as we have been together for every aspect of this journey. It was also very sad because she didn't feel well and wanted to come. The service was fun, and the people there are always so giving. Yesterday was Erma's birthday, and she celebrated it by making dinner for all those in attendance and serving us all. When I left, she also gave me a few of her beautiful roses. Back at home, Alisa was still in bed so I got her a Sprite. She was able to eat some pretzals too. So, we planned to go to coffee farm this morning, and then climb a mountain that has nice views of the city after that. This morning, she was still sick. We got a late start, so we decided just to go to the market so we could be back for lunch. It was busy as it is Saturday, and we went inside to the crazier part. We had been there probably 40 minutes when we were in this really crazy part. There was a woman with her daughter walking near us. She cut right in front of Alisa at one point to "look" at a bag. Alisa literally bumped into her since it was so abrupt. Then, she did it again and we saw Alisa's wallet on the ground though her bag was zipped. We knew something was happening then, and started to try to get out of the maze of the market. Then, the woman did it again. When we got out, I went to the bathroom and discovered that my bag was cut about 6 inches opened. I had figured out the mystery. The little girl had been cutting our bags when the mom stopped. And, they got my camera with all my pictures of this incredible experience. I have been pretty sad all day because of the loss of these pictures, but also that it was a child who did this. It is also sad because Alisa is still sick.

Still, this is a beautiful place and an incredible experience. I really wish that this weekend would have gone a little differently, but it is a part of life. I also have learned to avoid carrying bags. People are really smart about stealing... Edna told me many stories about stealing today. Say a little prayer today for those living in desperation in Guatemala and throughout the world.

Advertisement



31st May 2009

OH STEFFI!!
Oh Steffi!!! The camera situation is so sad :( But I am glad that you are having fun and an amazing experience!!! Enjoy your last week there!! Love and Miss You! PS- Tell Alisa that I hope she gets feeling better!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb